Here are some excerpts from the booklet prepared for the 100th anniversary of our parish.
Photographs and other illustrations from the booklet will be eventually added...
Fr. Dan Gauthier o.ff.m. - October 30th, 2003.

EN GUISE DE PRÉPARATION POUR LE 125e ANNIVERSAIRE DE LA PAROISSE
VOICI LES TEXTES
TEL QUE PARUS DANS LE LIVRET PRÉPARÉ
LORS DU 100e ANNIVERSAIRE DE LA PAROISSE
.
CERTAINES PHOTOS, IMAGES ET SERONT ÉVENTUELLEMENT INSÉRÉS.
BONNE LECTURE!

En ce 30 octobre 2003
P. D
aniel Gauthier o.ff.m.


DEDICATION


Page 1 - This book is not meant to tell the complete story of St. Margaret's Parish. Only the Almighty Father knows of the countless sacrifices, the Masses and Benedictions, the births, marriages and deaths, the happiness and heartbreaks, that have come to pass in its century of existence.

For those who have spent almost a lifetime in the parish, for those who have grown in its midst and for those who will share in its future mission, this humble effort is intended to tell something of the priests and the people, the spirit and the history of St. Margaret's Parish through one hundred fruitful years.

This book is dedicated to His Excellency, the most Rev. Charles Hugh Gauthier founder of our parish, and to succeeding pastors, priests and people who have served St. Margaret's for the greater honour and glory of God.


Page 2 -

DÉDICACE

Ce livre n'a pas pour but de raconter l'histoire complète de la paroisse Ste-Marguerite. Seul, Dieu Tout-Puissant reconnait les sacrifices innombrables, les Messes et les Bénédictions, les naissances, les mariages et les décès, les joies et les peines qui se sont déroulés pendant son centenaire d'existence.

Pour ceux qui ont passé presqu'une vie entière dans la paroisse, pour ceux qui ont grandi dans son milieu et pour ceux qui participeront dans sa prochaine mission, cet humble effort tente de raconter quelque chose de ses prêtres et de ses fidèles, de l'esprit et de l'histoire de Ste Marguerite à travers ses cent années fructueuses.

Ce livre souvenir est dédié à Son Excellence le Très Rév. Charles Hugh Gauthier, fondateur de cette paroisse et à ses successeurs, aux prêtres et aux gens qui ont servi la paroisse Ste-Marguerite pour l'honneur et la plus grande gloire de Dieu.


Page 3 - (Papal blessing) -

MOST HOLY FATHER

THE PASTOR AND THE PARISHIONERS OF ST. MARGARET OF SCOTLAND PARISH GLEN NEVIS

ON THE OCCASION OF THE 100TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE FOUNDING OF THEIR PARISH JUNE 13, 1982

HUMBLY ASK FOR YOUR APOSTOLIC BLESSING

(picture of Papal Blessing with Pope John Paul II)


Page 4 -

It gives me great pleasure to learn that St. Margaret of Scotland Parish at Glen Nevis, Ontario, is celebrating its Centennial on the Feast of Corpus Domini in 1982. Hundred years of living and praying together, sharing the Divine Riches and witnessing to the Love of the Saviour is worthy of celebration.

While wishing the Centennial celebrations every success, I cordially bless the parish community of St. Margaret's of Scotland at Glen Nevis.

Angelo Palmas
Apostolic Pro-Nuncio

Il me fait bien plaisir d'apprendre que la paroisse Ste-Marguerite d'Ecosse, à Glen Nevis, en Ontario, célèbre son centenaire le jour de la Fête-Dieu, en 1982. C'est à juste titre qu'on célèbre cent ans de vie et de prière communautaires, de partage des dons divins et de preuve de l'amour de notre Sauveur.

Tout en souhaitant un grand succès aux célébrations du centennaire, je bénis de grand coeur la communauté paroissiale de Ste-Marguerite d'Ecosse à Glen Nevis.

Angelo Palmas
Pro-Nonce Apostolique


Page 5 -

Dear Fr. Witold and Parishioners:

On behalf of all your brothers and sisters in the Lord of the church of Alexandria-Cornwall I offer you our warmest greetings and congratulations on the Centenary of your venerable parish of Saint Margaret of Scotland.

The horse, which according to legend pawed a hole where your present church is located, has long since disappeared; but the faith of that early Catholic community still flourishes among you. The names of those founding families are engraved not only on windows and tombstones but are celebrated in each Eucharist in the Communion of Saints which prays to the one Father of us all.

Puisse ce centenaire nous rappeler les années écoulées afin que nous reformulions notre foi présente et qu'ensemble nous fassions face au temps futur avec espérance, détermination et grande conviction!

Que le Seigneur nous accorde à tous sa paix et sa joie!

May the Lord of time who inhabits the realms of eternity, Jesus, true God and true man, lead us in the power of the Holy Spirit to the loving presence of Our Father!

Fraternally yours in Christ,

Eugene P. LaRocque,
Bishop of Alexandria-Cornwall


Page 6 -

I am very happy to celebrate this Centennial of St. Margaret's with our Parishioners like one among you.

Each year has its specific significance in a personal life, as well as in the Parish Community. How much more is this realized during a whole century when God's blessings are more numerous and the joy is greater.

Therefore, I share this joy of our Parishioners with those who have always lived here and with the newcomers.

May God continue to inspire us at St. Margaret's to play our role in accordance with His plan that we may be faithful to the history of our parish which was written in golden letters and be a link for the generations to come.

Je suis très heureux de célébrer avec vous, comme l'un des vôtres, chers paroissiens, le centennaire de la Paroisse Ste-Marguerite d'Écosse.

Dans chaque vie, chaque année a une importance bien spéciale; il en va ainsi dans la vie communautaire d'une paroisse. Cela apparaît évident à l'occasion d'un centennaire alors que le Seigneur nous comble de grâces et de joies nombreuses.

Je partage donc la joie de nos paroissiens avec ceux qui ont vécu ici et avec les nouveaux arrivés.

Que Dieu continue à nous inspirer à Ste-Marguerite dans la vocation que nous avons reçue selon son plan, afin que nous soyons fidèles à notre histoire paroissiale écrite en lettres d'or et transmise aux générations futures.

 

Fr. Witold P. Mazurkiewicz


Page 7 -

FORMATION OF THE PARISH COUNCIL

Parish Councils have probably been a necessary group in all parishes for many years. In the early years the parish council was composed of a few gentlemen in the parish to whom the pastor could refer when he needed some special advice or knowledge. Then, the authorities of the church began to realize that there was a need to have elected members from the parish who would be responsible for aiding the pastor.

In 1968, the first parish council was formed under Father Leo MacDonell's pastorate. Then in 1972 Father P. Breton drew up an outline on how the constitution for a parish council should be executed. It was to be made up of the following: The Pastor; Parish Council; C.W.L.; Finance Committee; Cemetery Committee; Hall Committee; Social Committee, Education Committee, Liturgy Committee.

Our Parish Council, at this point, was reorganized to fill these necessary committees. Elections would be held the second Sunday of December. Each year five members were to be elected to serve a 3-year term. This procedure has been followed since that time with the members meeting on a monthly basis.

Past Presidents of Parish Council

Liste des présidents du conseil paroissial

René Lacombe

Lionel Glaude

Adrian McKinnon

Gilles Glaude

Bernie McDonell

Bernard C. MacDonald

Charles McDonald

Gilles Glaude

LE CONSEIL PAROISSIAL

Les conseils paroissiaux ont toujours été des groupes nécessaires dans chaque paroisse. Dans les premières années, le comité paroissial était composé de quelques hommes de la paroisse à qui le curé pouvait demander conseil au besoin. Plus tard, les autorités ecclésiastiques ont constaté la nécessité d'élire des membres de la paroisse qui seraient responsables pour aider leur curé.

En 1968 était formé le premier conseil paroissial sous le pastorat du Père Léo MacDonell. En 1972, Père P. Breton a tracé le plan d'une constitution pour un conseil paroissial. Il serait composé comme suit: le pasteur, le conseil paroissial, le C.W.L., le comité de finance, le comité du cimetière, le comité de la salle paroissiale, le comité social, le comité d'édcuation et le comité liturgique.

Notre conseil paroissial, à ce moment, fut réorganisé pour mettre en fonction ces comités nécessaires. Des élections ont lieu le deuxième dimanche de décembre. Cinq membres sont élus chaque année pour servir un terme de trois ans. Ce procédé est employé depuis ce temps avec une rencontre mensuelle des membres du conseil paroissial.

En ce ce centième anniversaire de la fondation de cette paroisse Ste Marguerite d'Ecosse de Glen Nevis, j'aimerais porter à votre attention que cete maison de Dieu fut construite solidement par nos ancêtres zélés et croyants. Ainsi, ce livre est préparé soigneusement par une assemblée de fidèles dévoués.

Il rend témoignage à nos prédécesseurs ainsi qu'à tous nos paroissiens qui par leurs sacrifices ont su maintenir leur église depuis si longtemps.

Avec l'inspiration de Dieu et la volonté de tous ses membres, je suis certain que notre temple continuera à servir les besoins spirituelles de notre petite communauté.


Page 8 -

Message from the President

On this one hundredth anniversary of the foundation of St Margaret of Scotland Parish in Glen Nevis, I would like to point out that this temple of God was built with solid stones symbolic of the powerful faith and courage of our ancestors.

This book is tribute to those brave pioneers as well as to the faithful parishioners who have supported and maintained St. Margaret's for so many years.

With God's inspiration and the good will of all its members, I am sure that our church will continue to serve the spiritual needs of our small community.

(français...)

(image)


Page 9 -

ST. MARGARET, QUEEN OF SCOTLAND
1047 - 1093

Margaret, an English princess, was born in 1047. She lived with her family in exile in Hungary until the age of ten. After the death of Edward the Confessor, she was one of the three direct heirs to the throne. Following the battle of Hastings her family was again advised to flee the country. A fierce storm drove their ship north to the firth of Forth into a sheltered bay, since called St. Margaret's Hope. Here, Malcolm III of Scotland welcomed them. By her selflessness, Queen Margaret stands alone as the happy mother of a large family. She is considered the patroness of wives as well as the patroness of our parish.

One of the oldest buildings on the grounds of Edinburgh Castle is the little chapel where its founder - St. Margaret used to worship.

St. Margaret's Chapel - Edinburgh Castle (picture)

SAINTE  MARGUERITE,  REINE D'ÉCOSSE 
1047 - 1093

Marguerite, une princesse anglaise, est née en 1047. Elle vivait en exil avec sa famille en Hongrie jusquà l'âge de dix ans. Après la mort d'Edouard le confesseur, elle devint une des trois héritieres au trône. A la suite de la bataille d'Hastings, sa famille fut de nouveau avertie de fuir le pays. Une violente tempête a détourné le bateau vers le nord dans une baie isolée, appelée depuis l'Espoir de Ste Marguerite. Là, Malcom III d'Ecosse les accuillis. En 1070, Malcom et Marguerite se sont épousés et de leur union naquirent huit enfants.

Par son abnégation, reine Marguerite a influencé la vie sociale et spirituelle d'Ecosse. De toutes les saintes canonisées, Marguerite est la seule qui représente une mère heureuse d'une famille nombreuse. Elle est considérée comme la patronne des épouses, et aussi la patronne de notre paroisse.

Un de plus vieux bâtiments sur les terrains du château d'Edinburg est la petite chapelle ou sa fondatrice, Ste Marguerite allait adorer et prier Dieu.


Page 10 -

AINSI SOIT-ELLE ...

Pendant des siècles, des siècles ... Amen.
Ces mots suivent souvent nos souhaits chaleureux;
Santé, bonheur; c'est à Dieu seul qu'ils nous ramènent
Par la foi inébranlable de nos aieux.

À travers joies et contrariétés nombreuses,
Notre Eglise a franchit le seuil de la centaine.
A date, Ste Marguerite compte des âmes heureuses
Sachant s'entraider dans une atmosphère saine.

Avec l'âge des rénovations s'imposent
Autant spirituelles que matérielles.
Pour qu'elle conserve son aspect grandiose
Ste Marguerite s'appuie sur tous ses fidèles.

Malgré le laisser aller des temps moderne
Qui relègue nos fêtes champêtres aux souvenirs,
Notre jeunesse garde un sang valeureux dans ses veines;
Espoir d'années mémorables pour l'avenir.

Tout en imitant le courage de nos ancêtres
Vivons aujourd'hui l'idéal qui nous anime,
Celui d'une paroisse unie par tous ses êtres
Pendant des siècles, des siècles ... but ultime.

Diane (Lacombe) Roy


Page 11 -

PASTORS WHO SERVED ST. MARGARET OF SCOTLAND

Most Rev. Charles H. Gauthier, D.D. 1882-1886

Most Rev. William A. MacDonell, D.D. 1886-1890

Rev. Donald C. McRae 1890-1906

Msgr. D.R. Macdonald 1906-1940

Rev. Alexander L. Cameron 1940-1945


Page 12 -

Msgr. James A Wylie 1945-1956

Rev. J. Francis Foley 1956-1957

Rev. Leo MacDonell 1957-1971

Rev. Felix DaPrato 1971-1972

Rev. Patrick Breton 1972-1979


Page 13 -

St. Margaret of Scotland Church, a magnificent stone edifice, stands on a hill overlooking the Beaudette River in the quiet hamlet of Glen Nevis.
In the beginning the forested hillside was viewed by trappers who plied their canoes along the river into Upper Canada and referred to the area as Castique.  The settlers in Lower Canada considered the present Lancaster township as too swampy for habitation.  However, following the Jacobite Rebellion in 1745 many Highland Scots joyrneyed to America.  Father Alexander Macdonell brought his entire parish from Knoydart in Glengarry and landed at a spot near Lancaster.  In 1802 more emigrants arrived, led by their priest, also called Alexander Macdonell.  French speaking families, among them, the Rozons, Majors and Leclairs, moved to the area.  Glen Nevis was becoming populated.
By 1845 the village of North Lancaster had received its name.  One of the county's most enterprising pioneers, Charles Leclair established a store and farm on Lot 24 in the 6th concession.

ALEXANDRE LECLAIR, 1843-1914 & CATHERINE FORESTALL, 1863-1938 (picture)

Alexander Leclair, fifth son of Charles, with his second wife Catherine Forestall. Their daughter, Mrs Kathleen McDonell, presently resides at St. Joseph's Villa, Cornwall. Alexander took over his father's business as well as starting the first store in Lancaster Station in 1856. He was buried at Glen Nevis in 1914 with Bridget Masterson, his first wife.
Alexandre Leclair, cinquième fils de Charles avec sa deuxième épouse Catherine Forestall. Leur fille, Mme Kathleen McDonell demeure présentement à la Villa St-Joseph à Cornwall. Alexandre a pris le commerce de son père et a ouvert le premier magasin à Lancaster Station en 1856. Il fut enterré à Glen Nevis en 1914 avec Bridget Masterson, sa première femme.

LA PAROISSE STE MARGUERITE D'ECOSSE

L'église Ste Marguerite d'Ecosse, un magnifique édifice de pierres, se dresse sur une colline, dominant la rivière Beaudette dans le petit village de Glen Nevis.

Au tout début, cette côte boisée avait été remarquée par des trappeurs qui canotaient le long de la rivière vers le Haut-Canada et ceux-ci avaient surnommé cette région: Castique. Les pionniers du Bas-Canada trouvaient que le canton actuel de Lancaster était trop marécageux pour être habité. Cependant à la suite de la Révolution Jacobite en 1745, plusieurs Ecossais ont immigré en Amérique. Père Alexandre Macdonell a amené sa paroisse entière de Knoydart dans Glengarry et a accosté près de Lancaster. En 1802, d'autres émigrants sont arrivés, conduits eux aussi par un curé également du nom d'Alexandre Macdonell. Des familles françaises avec eux comme les Rozons, les Majors, les Leclairs sont arrivées dans la région. Glengarry, le canton de Lancaster et Glen Nevis commençaient à se peupler.

En 1845, le village de North ...


Page 14 -

His endeavours grew and diversified into an ashery, hotel, tenant house and more farms. Charles married Caroline Mcdonell. Charles'second son, Peter Napoleon graduated as a doctor from McGill in 1861. In 1864 he became a trustee for Alexandria High School and a coroner for Glengarry. The third son, Louis Guillaume was ordained in Rome in 1861 into the order of St Sulpice. He was selected to supervise the building of the Canadian College in Rome and became rector for eight years.

A southeast room of the family home in North Lancaster was converted into a chapel. The bell would summon the neighbours to come for Mass or prayers when Father William was home visiting. Mrs John J. Macdonald recalls driving the Sisters from Glen Nevis to visit Mrs. Leclair and being invited to see the chapel, kept intact although no longer in use. Father Leclair was the first francophone Gengarrian to be ordained to the priesthood.

Rev. Guillaume LECLAIR (picture) - REV. GUILLAUME LECLAIR
 

... Lancaster avait reçu son nom. Un des pionniers les plus audacieux du comté, Charles Leclair a établi un magasin et une ferme sur le lot 24 de la 6e concession. Ses projets se sont élaborés et diversifiés en un plan de potasse, un hôtel, une maison de pension et d'autres fermes. Charles et son épouse Thérèse Guindon ont eu neuf enfants. Après la mort de sa femme, Charles a marié Caroline McDonell. Le deuxième fils de Charles, Pierre Napoléon a gradué en médecine en 1861 de l'Université McGill. En 1864, il devint commissaire pour l'école secondaire d'Alexandria et coroner pour Glengarry. Le troisième fils, Louis Guillaume fut ordonné à Rome en 1861 dans l'ordre de St-Sulpice. Il fut choisi pour diriger l'édifice du Collège Canadien à Rome et en fut le supérieur pendant huit ans.

Une pièce au sud-est de la maison familiale à North Lancaster fut aménagée en chapelle. Une cloche appelait les voisins à la prière ou à la messe quand Père Louis Guillaume était en visite. Mme John J. McDonald se souvient d'avoir conduit les religieuses de Glen Nevis pour visiter


Page 15 -

By the 1870's Glen Nevis was a thriving community. Horses and wagons drove along the river road , west of the church to the shingle and sawmill operated by Duncan MacLennan, great-grandfather of John J. Macleod.

In 1865 a post office was opened in Alec E. MacRae's store, situated south west of where the church now stands.

In the early 1900's Glen Nevis was a busy community. Mrs Poirier, the dressmaker lived in the house presently owned by Arnold Macdonald. Charlie "Black Smith" Macdonald lived on the property owned today by Albert Derouchie. Local scholars roomed at Catherine Jane's hall. Local merrymakers even recall the fierce dog, Sarto, she owned.

Music broke the drudgery of pioneer's day and the talent of such ...

Mme Leclair. Elles avaient été invitées à voir la chapelle demeurée intacte même si elle ne servait plus. Père Leclair était le premier francophone de Glengarry à être ordonné prêtre.

Vers les années 1870, Glen Nevis était une communauté prospère. Chevaux et charrettes circulaient sur la route longeant la rivière à l'ouest de l'église vers un moulin à scie et à bardeaux, propriété de Duncan McLennan, arrière grand-père de John J. MacLeod. Un bureau de poste fut ouvert en 1865 dans le magasin de M. Alex C. McRae au sud ouest de l'endroit où s'élève aujourd'hui notre église.

Au début des 1900, Glen Nevis devenait un coin rempli d'activités. Mme Poirier, la couturière vivait dans la demeure qui est présentement la propriété de M. Arnold MacDonald. Charlie "le forgeron" MacDonald demeurait sur celle qui appartient aujourd'hui à M. Albert Derouchie. Les ...

BACK IN OTHER TIMES - This picture, brought in to us by Mrs Donat Ouimet of Glen Nevis showing milk transportation back about 1915, will doubtless evoke nostalgia among many readers. She tells us her father, Alderic Lajeunesse, holding the reins in the picture, used to pick up milk along the seventh of Lancaster north of Glen Nevis and haul it to the Glen Nevis cheese factory on the bank of the Beaudette River. She does not know any of the others in the picture but thought someone in the area might recognize them.


Page 16 -

... superb musicians as Allan "Breach" MacDonald, and later his son Alex Allan Malcolm, Neil Angus Neil MacDonald, Alexandra and Catherine MacLaughlin, Blanche Brosseau, Agnes Valade, Alderic Bourbonnais, Mrs Herve Vachon and Joseph Laframboise was greatly appreciated in this pre T.V. era.

Early maps indicate families of Scottish descent represented in every concession. The ambitious sons of these pioneers left the homestead to leave their mark in lumber, railroad, mining and business enterprise across Canada and the United States. The neglected farms were gradually taken over by French and more recently by Dutch families.

In May, 1882, the Canadian Pacific Railway built a station in Dalhousie. The local post offices at Bridge End and Glen Nevis closed in 1914 and Dalhousie Mills in 1944 due to the coming of rural mail delivery. Thus the custom of gathering at the post office to hear the local news while waiting for the mail to be sorted was no longer necessary and another social gathering became no more. Gradually the business centre moved from Glen Nevis to Dalhousie Station and Glen Nevis...

étudiants de la région pensionnaient chez Catherine Jane McDonald pendant qu'ils fréquentaient l'école. Plusieurs danses et soirées récréatives ajoutaient à l'esprit social de la communauté et plusieurs fêtes écossaises "ceilidh" ont eu lieu dans la salle de Catherine Jane. Quelques fêtards se souviennent encore de son chien féroce Sarto...

La musique venait rompre la monotonie de la vie du pionnier et les talents des musiciens accomplis tels que Allan "Breach" MacDonald et ensuite de son fils Alex Allan Malcolm, Neil Angus Neil McDonald, Neil Austin McDonald, Alex et Catherine McLaughlin, Mlle Blanche Brosseau, Agnes Valade, Alderic Bourbonnais, Mme Hervé Vachon et Joseph Laframboise furent grandement appréciés avant l'ère de la télévision.

D'anciennes cartes géographiques nous révèlent que des familles d'origine écossaise étaient représentées dans chaque concession. Les fils ambitieux de ces pionniers ont quitté leur foyer natal pour se diriger vers des entreprises de bois, de mines, de chemins de fer et de commerces à travers le Canada et les Etats-Unis. Au fur et à mesure, les Français ont pris les fermes négligées et ...

BATHURST STORE - DALHOUSIE MILLS (picture)

Mr. Harris Bathurst operates the oldest business in the parish, one that was well established before St. Margaret's was built.


Page 17 -

became the quiet residential community it is today.

The daily work ceased on Sunday for the worship of God. Residents walked, if necessary, the miles to St.Raphael's to pray, often carrying their precious shoes to help save the leather.

Little is known of the Roman Catholic mission chapel built along the Delisle River in Dalhousie Mills. We assume it was in use sometime previous to 1867, the date which appears on the bell which was transferred later to Glen Nevis.

Records tell of Father John Masterson, pastor of St. Raphael's, driving here to say Mass. Mrs. Angus McDonell recalls her mother telling of walking to the chapel for May prayers. Mrs. John J. McDonald's mother, Mary Margaret McGillis attended Catechism Classes there.

As early as 1845 it was deemed desirable to form a new parish east of St. Raphael's and west of the Lower Canada boundary. Most Rev. Patrick Phelan, Bishop of Canada, gave his permission and these dimensions for a church.

"The edifice should be 60' long by 36' wide. Walls are to be 18' to 20' high. Windows are to be 8' high, Gothic in form at least 6' from ground level. The walls should be of stone."

As a result a stone church was begun at Bridge End, Lot 9, 6th concession, east of the River Beaudette on the property owned today by Raymond (Gill) McDonell. This location was declared unsuitable before the building was completed.

For thirty-five years, people of the area failed to agree on a site.

In May, 1881, Right Rev. James V. Cleary of Kingston agreed to meet the Glen Nevis delegates and examine the proposed locations for their church.

Mr. Duncan Bathurst wrote...

... dernièrement des familles hollandaises viennent s'y installer.

Au mois de mai 1882, le Canadien Pacifique a construit une gare à Dalhousie. Les bureaux de poste locaux à Bridge End et à Glen Nevis ont fermé leurs portes en 1914 et celui de Dalhousie Mills en 1944 à cause de la nouvelle livraison rurale du courrier. Donc ce fut la disparition graduelle de cette coutume de se rassembler au bureau de poste pour apprendr les nouvelles locales en attendant que le courrier soit trié. Par conséquent, le petit centre commercial de Glen Nevis est déménagé à Dalhousie et est devenue la tranquille communauté résidentielle d'aujourd,hui.

Le travail quotidien cessait le dimanche pour l'adoration de Dieu. Les habitants marchaient souvent les milles nécessaires à St. Raphaël pour prier. Ils portaient souvent leurs chaussures dans leurs mains pour ménager le cuir.

Peu de détails sont fournis à propos de la chapelle de la mission Catholique Romaine construite près de la rivière Delisle à Dalhousie Mills. Il est probable qu'elle désservait les gens avant 1867 laquelle date apparait sur la cloche qui fut déménagée plus tard à Glen Nevis. Des dossiers nous apprennent que le Père John Masterson curé de St. Raphaël se rendait là pour dire la messe. Mme Angus S. McDonell se rappelle que sa mère avait mentionné qu'elle marchait à la chapelle pour la dévotion à Marie. La mère de Mme John J. MacDonald, Mary Margaret McGillis suivait des cours de catéchisme à cet endroit.

Aussi tôt qu'en 1845, il fut désirable de former une nouvelle paroisse à l'est de St. Raphaël et à l'ouest de la frontière du Bas-Canada. Le Très Rév. Patrick Phelan, évêque du Canada donna sa permission et les dimensions suivantes pour une église.


 

Page 18 -

QUIT CLAIM DEED - 1883 (hand written letter)

In the name of God AMEN.

Know all men by these presents that I do grant, give and assign to the Priest and the Roman Catholic parish of St. Margaret's in the county of Glengarry, the field of land north of the road leading from the public road to the Roman Catholic chapel, and south of the land of the late George Munro, being part of lot No 9 in the 8th concession of Lancaster, containing two acres more or less, costing the granter the sum of four hundred dollars ($400,00) according to the agreement and promises by the Priest officiating at the time, which sum was to be refunded and the land to be redeemed by the parish, when a priest would be appointed.

Therefore a quit-claim of the said parcel of land to the parish aforesaid free of all claims in consideration of the Priest attending my funeral, and exempting my homestead from parish church rates for the term of six years. Be these presents I direct the parish Priest of the said parish of St. Margaret's to be administrator and executor in granting title or deed for the disposal of the said land.

Signed and sealed this 3rd day of October A.D. in the year of our Lord eighteen hundred and eighty-three.

In presence of: Dorothea MacDonald - Thos McCarthy - Donald Robertson

Copied directly from the original document by W.C. Morrison


Page 19 -

 of Bishop Cleary's address in Glen Nevis in 1886: "He called to their minds the stirring scenes of that day on which he first appeared amongst them and received a splendid welcome, such as he has never witnessed elsewhere, when nigh two hundred carriages full of parishioners followed him from place to place around the district... the solemn act in conclusion of that day's journey when three delegates having been chosen by each of the six rival sections to speak, he called the eighteen delegates one by one to the altar of Dalhousie chapel to sign a declaration to accept the Bishop's decision".

After a month of deliberation, Bishop Cleary announced that the church was to be built in Glen Nevis and Rev. C.H. Gauthier was appointed pastor.

"L'édifice doit être de 60' de long par 36' de large. Les murs doivent être de 18 à 20' de hauteur. Les fenêtres de forme gothique devront être de 8' de hauteur et au moins à 6' du sol. Les murs extérieurs seront en pierre".

Par conséquent, on a commencé à construire une église à Bridge End, sur le lot 9 de la 6e concession à l'est de la Rivière Beaudette sur la propriété actuelle de M. Raymond (Gill) McDonell. Mais avant que la bâtisse soit érigée, on a disqualifié ce site. Pendant trente-cinq ans, les gens des environs n'ont pu s'entendre sur un terain approprié.

En mai 1881, son Excellence James V. Cleary de Kingston a accepté de rencontrer les délégués de Glen Nevis et d'étudier les sites proposés pour leur église. M. Duncan Bathurst a écrit ceci ...


Page 20 -

On June 17, 1882, Most Rev. James Cleary of Kingston blessed the cornerstone of the new church. In a journal kept by D.C. McRae he notes that the stone was drawn from a quarry owned by Alex C. McDonald, 16-6 concession. Other sources suggest a quarry near Pine Hill was also used.

Religion mattered not as local men gained financially from the available work. Ruth McLeod recalls her father, John Duncan, talking of helping to draw stone for the church.

The building minus the furnishings cost about $10,000. The bell, struck in 1867 in Troy, N.Y., weighed over 700 pounds, was transferred from the chapel at Dalhousie Mills. It had been donated by Alex MacDougald, a granduncle of Harris, Tom and Angus Bathurst.

... de l'adresse de l'évêque à Glen Nevis en 1886: "Il leur a rappelé les scènes émouvantes de cette première journée quand il est venu parmi eux, de la bienvenue chaleureuse lorsque près de deux cents voitures pleines de paroissiens l'avaient suivi de place en place dans la région... de l'acte solennel final alors que trois délégués avaient été choisis pour parlementer par chacune des six sections rivales; il appela les dix-huit représentants, un par un à l'autel de la chapelle de Dalhousie pour signer une déclaration acceptant la décision de l'évêque".

Après un mois de délibération, l'évêque Cleary annonça enfin qu'une église serait érigée à Glen Nevis et que le Rév. C.H. Gauthier en serait le pasteur.

C'est le 17 juin 1882 que Son Excellence James Cleary de Kingston...

WALLS OF THE CHURCH BEGUN AT BRIDGE END (picture)

$12.00 Received of Angus R. McLeod 13,8 .... the sum of twelve dollars as percentage on his subscription for quarrying stone for Glennevis church.
Lancaster ...... 19th 1874 D.C. McRae - Treasurer


Page 21 -

A true copy of a letter addressed to Right Rev. John O'Brien of Kingston, August 13th 1875. (hand written)

L.F. McLachlarin.
Right Rev'd John O'Brien
Bishop of Kingston Ont.

We habitants Freeholders and Parishioners of the parish of Saint Margaret in the township of Lancaster in the county of Glengarry, Province of Ontario Deem it expedient to hereby respectfully insinuate to Your Lordship that much dissension and disagreement relative to the adoption of the location and Erection of a Church for aforesaid Parish has prevailed.

Wherefore May I please Your Lordship to be pleased to specially Examine the nature of the assuming Claims of Location and what is to be done with the Bridge End Church Wall, which has cost about Seven Hundred Pounds of predicated and built in virtue of good and lawful Authority as a true copy of said Authority will manifest and which was originally invented and commenced under the Auspices of the late Bishop Gaulin of ...


Page 22 -

... Kingston and Lactigree of Montreal and the late Bishop Phelan as administrator.

It is lamentable to see so much Church Building dilapidating truly attributable to the want of proper administration. We consider it our Right to Enquire how will those who contributed to the making of the Bridge End Church unless it is finished will be remunerated all of which is most respectfully submitted to Your Lordship anticipating full and Trustful investigation of the unfortunate predicament of the said Parish without a church before the final selection of a location.

It is necessary to say that many Irish Catholic families and French have lately settled in front of Lancaster and down to near McKies' point and adjacent to the Provincial line which deserves some consideration. conclusion May it please Your Lordship to answer at your earliest convenience addressed to D.A. McDonell, No 10. 6th Con. Lancaster Mount Joy Post Office, P.Q. We ask for Your Lordship's Blessings.

Your Humble and Obedient Servants.

Names:

D.A. McDonell 10, 6th Donald A.McDonald


Page 23 -

Names continued:

W.C. McGillis Donald I. McDonell
Arch.D H McDonell Alex Angus McDonell
Angus McDougall Ranald A. McGillis
Angus McGillis Finlay McGillis
JB A. McDonald Archie A. McDonald
Donald McGillis Alexander McDonell
Archibald A. McDonald Alex D. McDonald
John D. McDonald Louis Bercheron
Peter D. McDonald Donald McDonald
Allen A McDonald Angus I. McDonald

Copied directly from true copy of the original letter by Wayne G. Morrison using a quill-pen


Page 24 -

Most Rev. James V. Cleary (picture)
Bishop of Kingston

Rev. William A. MacDonell, a native of Grant's Corners and destined to become Bishop of Alexandria in 1906, was appointed as second pastor of St. Margaret's in 1886.

In 1890 Father D.C. McRae came to Glen Nevis. During this time important additions were made to the church and presbytery. On March 10, 1893 the Stations of the Cross were dedicated by Bishop Macdonell. These paintings were imported from France. Clergy present at the dedication were Fathers R.A. MacDonald, Wm. A. MacDonell of St. Andrew's Parish and Wm. Fox of Lochiel. Membership in the parish was increasing. On November 10, 1905, Father Donald C. McRae signed a contract with John A. Chisholm of Alexandria to build a chapel at Curry Hill. Glen Nevis pastors were to include the spiritual needs of the Curry Hill congregation in their care until 1924.

One of Glengarry's outstanding ...

bénit la pierre d'angle de la nouvelle église. Dans un journal intime conservé par D.C. McRae, on note que la pierre en question fut tirée d'une carrière appartenant à Alex C. McDonald du lot no 16 de la 6e concession. D'autres sources révèlent qu'une carrière près de Pine Hill fut aussi utilisée.

Peu importe la religion, les hommes de la région s'enrichissaient par l'emploi offert. Ruth MacLeod se rappelle que son père John Duncan avait mentionné qu'il avait aidé à extraire des pierres pour l'église.

L'édifice comme tel sans l'ameublement a coûté près de $10,000. La cloche, frappée en 1867 à Troy N.Y. pesant au-delà de 700 livres fut transportée de la chapelle de Dalhousie Mills. Elle avait été donnée par Alex MacDougall, un grand oncle de Harris, Tom et Angus Bathurst.

Rev. William A. MacDonell, originaire de Grant's Corners et destiné à devenir Evêque d'Alexandria en 1906, fut nommé deuxième curé de Ste-Marguerite en 1886.

Père D.C. McRae est arrivé à Glen Nevis en 1890. A cette époque, des additions majeures furent ajoutées à l'église et au presbytère. Le 10 mars, 1893, les Stations du Chemin de la Croix, des peintures importées de la France furent consacrées par l'évêque Macdonell. Le clergé présent à cette dédicace se composait des Pères R.A. MacDonald, Wm. A. MacDonell de la paroisse de St. André et de William Fox de Lochiel. Les membres de la paroisse augmentaient. Le 10 novembre 1905, Père Donald C. McRae signait un contrat avec John A. Chisholm d'Alexandria pour qu'une chapelle soit construite à Curry Hill. Les curés devaient desservir les besoins spirituels de la communauté de Curry Hill jusqu'en 1924.

Un fils remarquable de Glengarry, ...


Page 25 - Bell (picture)

Stations of the Cross (picture)


Page 26 -

... memories of a glorious past come quietly out of the shades and the spirits of great men seem to hover about us.


Page 27 -

... sons, dedicated to a selfless service to education, his country, his church and his God, Msgr D.R. Macdonald, came to Glen Nevis in 1906 and remained for thirty-four years. For the furthering of education, Father Dan became a founder of the English Catholic Teacher's Association. A parochial school and high school with a remarkable academic record (Maryvale Abbey) were achieved through his efforts. For his country, he obtained the patent for an election ballot still used by the federal government. For his Church and God, Father Dan ministered to Glen Nevis parishioners faithfully. He travelled by horse and buggy or sleigh to his mission chapel at Curry Hill. He gave his best and exacted the best from those who assisted him. Many an altar boy will remember the perfection required around the sanctuary. Many a parishioner remembers the lengthy services they occasionally endured! A pastor's duties included financial as well as spiritual affairs. A lawn picnic was chosen as a money making venture.

We quote from the Glengarry News files:

First class supper from 6-9 p.m. Attractive features are the Alexandria Brass Band, Cobalt Mining Camp and Japanese Bazaar, Special train services - leaving Apple Hill, Glen Roy, Green Valley, Glen Norman - arrives Glen Nevis at 6:00. The train crossing is within 10 minutes walk of church grounds. Admission, including supper, 25c.

The ad does not indicate the anxiety of the women who served the "first class supper" with their best china - this being before paper plates!

Glen Nevis Picnic Again a Success - 1914... As a result of the favourable weather conditions and the renown of the Glen Nevis people as entertainers, the crowd began to assemble early in the day. The attendance swelled to about 4,000. Music was provided by pipes and drums...

...dévoué entièrement à l'éducation, à son pays, à son Eglise et à son Dieu, Mgr D.R. Macdonald est arrivé à Glen Nevis en 1906 et y est demeuré pendant trente-quatre ans. Intéressé à la cause de l'éducation supérieure, il est devenu fondateur de l'Association Catholique des enseignants anglais. Une école paroissiale et une école secondaire avec un record académique remarquable (Maryvale Abbey) furent réalisées grâce à ses efforts. Pour son pays, il obtint les droits d'un scrutin d'élection encore utilisé par le Gouvernement fédéral. Pour l'Eglise, et pour Dieu, le Père Dan était le pasteur fidèle des paroissiens de Glen Nevis. Il voyageait à cheval, en calèche ou en carriole à la chapelle de Curry Hill. Il se donnait corps et âme et s'attendait de la même chose de ceux qui l'aidaient. Plusieurs enfants de choeur se rappelleront de la perfection requise dans le sanctuaire. Quelques paroissiens se souviennent des services interminables auxquels ils ont assité ! Les devoirs d'un curé comprenaient le domaine financier aussi bien que le domaine spirituel. Un pique-nique annuel était un moyen traditionnel d'obtenir des fonds. Nous citons des dossiers du Glengarry News:

"Fête champêtre de 25e anniversaire - le 26 juillet 1907. Souper de première classe de 6 à 7 p.m. Attractions spéciales: l'Harmonie de Cuivre d'Alexandria, le Camp minier de Cobalt et le Bazaar japonais. Services spéciaux du train - départ de Apple Hill, Glen Roy, Green Valley, Glen Norman - arrivée à Glen Nevis à 6:00. La voie ferrée est à dix minutes de marche des terrains de l'église. Entrée, y compris le souper, 25 sous".

L'article ne fait pas mention de la nervosité des femmes qui servaient le "souper de premier ordre" avec leur meilleure vaisselle - ceci bien avant les assiettes de carton! ...


Page 28 -

of the 59th Pipe Band. Two concerts were staged in a large tent while dancing went on in the hall to the music of expert violinists. One of the features which attracted most attention was the tug-o-war between picked teams from Lancaster and Charlottenburg. It took 45 minutes to decide the supremacy of Lancaster."

Le pique-nique de Glen Nevis, un succès annuel - 1914. Grâce à la température favorable et à la popularité des gens de Glen Nevis, la foule a commencé à se rassembler tôt dans la journée. L'assistance s'est élevée à près de 4000 personnes. La musique était fournie par les cornemuses et tambours du 59e régiment. Deux concerts ont été

Glen Nevis Picnic (picture)

(picture)

Neil A. MacDonald (from left) and Alex Allan Malcolm Macdonald (from right) entertain at a picnic with dancers who performed the Petronella.

Left back row: Donald and Katie MacDonald, Archie John MacMillan, Betty (O'Shea) MacDonald

Centre: John Alexander and his wife Margaret McDonell, Mrs Catherine and Dougald (Shoemaker) McDonell, Florence and Archie Angus McDonald.

 


Page 29 -

THE GREAT

JUBILEE SOCIAL

Glen Nevis July 21
 

NONE OTHER EVER LIKE IT !

Booths: - Candy, Bazaar, Bingo, Ice Cream, etc. - The great games of LOTTO.

Platform Entertainment:
Mr. Eldridge of Cornwall,
The old-time Souther Darky Songs!
Highland Fling; Shean Trews, Double Sword Dance, Etc. by Mrs. Macdonald's Alexandria Troupe of six dancers.
Mrs D.J. Macdonell, native of Paisley, Scotland, will sing several of the favorite Scotch Songs: Cam'ye by athol, Comin'thro the Rye; Angus Macdonald and others, as requested. Her beautiful singing will delight your hearts. A rare opportunity offered you.
Stirring violin Selections by John Ranald McDonald.
There will be Addresses in French and English, and Songs by Farrand Bros., of St. Clet, and Children's Chorus of St. Telesphore.

Popular Irish Dances by the Alexandria little girls and Cornwall boys.

Abundance of Music by local Pipers and Malette's Orchestra.

Gold and Silver Medals will be offered for Highland Dance Competition, open to all comers

______

Admission and lunch, Adults, 50 cents.
Children 12 years and over, 25 cents
Children under 12 years, free

GOD SAVE THE KING
IF WEATHER BE UNFAVOURABLE, SOCIAL WILL BE HELD NEXT EVENING.
 

St. Margaret's celebrated its Golden Jubilee. The Social planned for that year was to be a worthy celebration of this event as the above advertisement will testify.


Page 30 -

In St. Margaret's in 1923, Father Dan was invested as a domestic prelate to Bishop Couturier, Not content with a quiet retirement, Msgr Macdonald, at the age of 82, founded Our Ladies' Missionaries, an order of sisters for English-speaking girls.

In the footsteps of Father Dan, in 1940, came Father Alexander Laughlin Cameron, a native of Alexandria. Financial commitments continued to be a concern and the parish social continued to be an annual event. The Glen Nevis social was largely attended. Father Cameron's personal invitation and keen memory of those in attendance convinced many that it was a "social" obligation to be present! Father Cameron celebrated his Silver Jubilee in March 1943. The diocesan clergy, relatives and friends gathered in Glen Nevis for a Solemn High Mass. Bishop Brodeur spoke in laudatory terms of the jubilarian. An address was read to him by A.S. Macdonald and E. Besner while a presentation was made by Donald McDonald and Alderic Rozon. The festivities concluded with a dinner and concert in the parish hall.

In 1945 following Father Cameron's appointment as pastor to St. Columban's in Cornwall, a native of Glen Robertson, Father James A. Wylie came to Glen Nevis. During his ten year appointment much was accomplished. His excellent administrative ability prepared the way to make the badly needed church renovation possible and the parish was cleared of debt. To augment the parish funds, Maryvale Abbey was sold to the Sisters of Holy Cross. In 1952, the parish was again privileged to have a second pastor celebrate his 25th anniversary to the priesthood. The respect for Father Wylie was made evident by the time and effort the sisters and parishioners spent preparing ...

... donnés sous une grande tente alors qu'on dansait aussi dans la salle au son de violonistes professionnels. Un des événements captivant fut le tir-au-cable entre des équipes choisies de Lancaster et Charlottenburg. Il a fallu 45 minutes pour décider la suprématie de Lancaster".

En 1923, à l'église Ste-Marguerite, Père Dan fut investi prélat domestique par l'évêque Couturier. Une retraite tranquille ne suffisait pas à Mgr Macdonald, car à l'âge de 82 ans, il fondait les Missionnaires de Notre-Dame, une congrégation de religieuses pour les filles de langue anglaise.

En 1940, Père Alexandre Laughlin Cameron, natif d'Alexandria suivit les traces du Père Dan. Les charges financières concernaient toute la paroisse et la fête champêtre "social" devenait une activité annuelle. C'était un événement très populaire. L'invitation personnelle du Père Cameron et sa mémoire prodigieuse de tous ceux qui y étaient présents réussissaient à convaincre la majorité que c'était une obligation "sociale" d'y assiter! Père Cameron avait célébré son jubilé d'argent en mars 1943. Le clergé diocésain, parents et amis se sont réunis à Glen Nevis pour une grand-messe solennelle. Son Excellence Rosario Brodeur a hautement louangé le jubilaire. Messieurs A.S. Macdonald et E. Besner ont lu l'adresse alors que Donald McDonald et Aldéric Rozon firent une présentation au Père Cameron. Cette cérémonie s'est terminée par un banquet et un concert dans la salle paroissiale.

En 1945, Père Cameron fut nommé curé de la paroisse St. Colomban à Cornwall et c'est un natif de Glen Robertson, le Père James A. Wylie qui vint à Glen Nevis. Pendant son pastorat de dix ans, beaucoup fut accompli. Ses ...


Page 31 - LONG LIFE TO OUR FATHER" SPELLED OUT TO FR. WYLIE AT HIS SILVER JUBILEE (picture)

... a suitable celebration.

A wee bit of o'Ireland came to Glen Nevis in 1956 when Rev. J. Francis Foley became pastor. Born in Finch, Ontario, Father Foley enjoyed his Irish heritage and with his fine tenor voice would generously entertain at concerts with his rendition of "Mick McGilligan's Ball" and other Irish ditties. The renovation of the church and remodeling of the parish house was a major project undertaken by Father Foley. The window glass was replaced and the windows were rededicated. Unfortunately the names of the original donors are lost to history. The church walls were painted and decorated by Oscar Perrier and Son, an Ottawa based firm. At the conclusion of the work the pastor stated: "We have taken literally the words of Our Lord when he appeared to St.Francis of Assisi and said to him, Francis, go repair my Church that has fallen into ruin".

The parishioners proudly invited friends to a day of thanksgiving to culminate the beautifying of the historic ...

... excellentes qualités administratives ont préparé la voie aux rénovations urgentes de notre église et la dette paroissiale fut acquittée. L'abbaye Maryvale fut vendue aux religieuses de Ste-Croix pour augmenter les fonds paroissiaux. La paroisse fut de nouveau privilégiée en fêtant un deuxième curé avec 25 ans de prêtrise. Le temps et l'effort des religieuses et des paroissiens pur préparer une fête appropriée témoignaient du profond respect envers le Père Wylie.

Un brin d'Irlande arrivait à Glen Nevis quand Rév. J. Francis Foley devint curé de Glen Nevis en 1956. Originaire de Finch, Ontario, Père Foley jouissait de son héritage irlandais et avec sa magnifique voix de tenor, il agrémentait les concerts avec sa version de "Mick McGilligan's Ball" et d'autres refrains irlandais. La rénovation de l'église et celle du presbytère furent les projets majeurs réalisés par Père Foley. Les vitres des verrières de l'église ont été remplaçées et les fenêtres ont été dédiées à nouveau. Malheureusement les noms...


Page 32 -

ST.MARGARET'S, THE DAY OF HER 75TH ANNIVERSARY


Page 33 -

building and to celebrate the 75th anniversary of its founding. On June 16, 1957, Bishop Brodeur, assisted by Reverends C.F. Gauthier, A.L. Cameron, J.A. Wylie, J.H. Ouimet, Jerome Rozon, Rhéal Gagnon, Bernard Pion, Ewen J. MacDonald and R.J. Macdonald presided at a High Mass. Wm J. Smith, Bishop of Pembroke, preached a sermon and recalled his days as curate during Father Dan's time. Graduation exercises were held for the students of Maryvale and a buffet lunch and social evening completed the day.

Alexandria diocese was saddened by Father Foley's untimely death in a traffic accident at the age of 43.

Father Leo Macdonell was appointed to St. Margaret's in 1957. His social and hospitable nature encouraged the parishioners to renew their reputation for hospitality. Under his guidance, the parish hall was innovatively decorated for church suppers and the annual social became one of the largest gatherings in Glengarry, second only to the Maxville Games. Many will recall the Calgary Stampeders, a national hit recording group of the year, providing a rock concert for the teenage crowd, and Madame Alarie, better known as Maman Plouffe, delighting her T.V. fans. The wide variety of hand made quilts attracted many. Mrs. Rudolphe Rozon's Star quilt was featured for many years. The incredible sum of $30,000 was grossed one year.

The liturgical reform of Vatican 11 had a great influence on the Catholic Church and these effects were soon felt at St. Margaret's as renovations continued. The main altar was taken down but the lower half, with its bas relief of the Last Supper was retained to house the Tabernacle, a gift of Danny John Samuel McDonald about 1939. A simple wooden table built by Joseph ...

 des premiers donateurs ont été perdus à l'histoire. Les murs de l'église ont été peints et décorés par Oscar Perrier et Fils, une entreprise d'Ottawa. Quand les travaux furent achevés, le curé déclara: "Nous avons pris littéralement les paroles de Notre-Seigneur quand il est apparu à St. François d'Assise en disant, allez réparer mon église car elle est tombée en ruines!"

Les paroissiens ont fièrement invité leurs amis à une journée d'action de grâces pour célébrer l'embellissement d'un édifice historique et pour fêter le 75e anniversaire de sa fondation. Or le 16 juin 1957, la grand messe était présidée par Mgr Brodeur entouré des Pères C.F. Gauthier, A.L. Cameron, J.A. Wylie, J.H. Ouimet, Jérôme Rozon, Rhéal Gagnon, Bernard Pion, Ewen J. MacDonald et R.J. Macdonald. William J. Smith, évêque de Pembroke prononça l'homélie. Les cérémonies de graduation pour les élèves de Maryvale se sont déroulées et par la suite un buffet et une soirée sociale ont terminé cette journée mémorable.

Le diocèse d'Alexandria fut attristé en apprenant la mort prématurée du Père Foley dans un accident de circulation. Il était âgé de 43 ans seulement.

Père Leo Macdonell fut nommé à la paroisse Ste-Marguerite en 1957. Sa nature joviale et accueillante encourageait les paroissiens à renouveler leur réputation hospitalière. Sous ses conseils judicieux, la salle paroissiale fut redécorée pour les célèbres soupers de la moisson et le "social" annuel devenait la plus grande attraction dans Glengarry après les Jeux de Maxville. Plusieurs se souviendront des "Calgary Stampeders" un groupe national de disque de l'année qui donnait un concert "rock" à une foule de jeunes ...


Page 34 - MRS. ROZON AND HER STAR QUILT (picture)

Filion of Green Valley and donated by Alderic Rozon was installed in the centre of the sanctuary. The pulpit was donated by the C.W.L. in memory of Msgr. D.R. Macdonald. An altar railing, retaining some of the original curved legs was built by Avila Cuerrier.

An inspection indicated that for the safety of the building the beautiful lofty spire of St. Margaret's should come down. This was done despite much controversy and to the regret of all who had admired the beauty of the steeple. A touch of modern architecture, a steeple constructed of B.C. fir was placed atop of the old Gothic style church in 1969. It was situated on a solid copper baseplate, rising 42 feet above the existing structure and topped by an 18 foot cross. The original old bell was installed in a new cradle and replaced in the new steeple. At the official blessing, in a candlelight ceremony, René Lacombe welcomed the clergy in the name of the congregation. Bishop Adolphe Proulx ...

... enthousiastes et de Madame Amanda Alarie, mieux connue comme Maman Plouffe qui fit le délice de ses admirateurs de la télévision. La grande variété de couvre-pieds piqués à la main attiraient beaucoup de gens. La courte-pointe étoilée de Mme Rodolphe Rozon était un prix spécial convoité pendant plusieurs années. La somme brute incroyable de $30,000. fut récoltée une année!

La réforme liturgique de Vatican II a beaucoup influencé l'Eglise catholique et s'est réflétée sur Ste-Marguerite à mesure que les rénovations continuaient. L'autel central fut descendu mais la partie du bas avec la Dernière Cène en relief fut gardée pour y habiter le Tabernacle. C'était un don de Danny John Samuel McDonald vers l'année 1939. Une simple table de chêne construite par Joseph Filion de Green Valley et donnée par Aldéric Rozon fut installée au centre du sanctuaire. La chaire était un don du C.W.L. en mémoire de...


Page 35 -

... of Alexandria paid tribute to the diplomacy of the pastor in obtaining cooperation for projects undertaken and thanked the parishioners for their dedication in these endeavours.

In 1971, Father Leo was named pastor at St. Finnan's Cathedral Parish and Father DaPrato came to minister to Glen Nevis parishioners until 1972 when he was succeeded by Rev. Patrick Breton. As well as his priestly duties, Father Breton conducted further changes. Circumstances of the day necessitated the sale of S.S. No 10 and the parish hall to private owners. It became evident that rising costs made the social no longer a viable financial venture and the annual get together passed into memory.

In april, 1979, Father Breton announced his retirement. Reverend ...

Mgr D.R. Macdonald. Une clôture d'autel avec les détails originaux de la sainte table fut construite par Avila Cuerrier de St-Télesphore.

A la suite d'une inspection, il fut décidé que le clocher altier de l'église devait descendre pour la sécurité de l'édifice. Ceci fut accompli, mais avec beaucoup de controverse et de regret de la part d tous ceux qui admiraient la beauté du clocher. Avec une touche d'architecture moderne, un clocher en pin colombien fut érigé au-dessus de l'église gothique.Il est fixé sur une base de cuivre et s'élève à 42 pieds au-dessus de la structure actuelle et est dominé par une croix de 18 pieds. L'ancienne cloche originale fut installée dans un nouveau berceau et replacée dans le clocher neuf. À la bénédiction officielle, lors d'une cérémonie aux cierges, M. René Lacombe adressait la bienvenue au clergé au nom de l'asemblée présente. Son Excellence Aldolphe Proulx d'Alexandria rendit hommage à la diplomatie du curé qui réussit à obtenir la co-opération nécessaire pour la réalisation des projets et il remercia les paroissiens pour leur dévouement dans ces entreprises.

En 1971, Père Léo fut nommé pasteur de la paroisse de la cathédrale St. Finnan's et Père Félix Da Prato est venu administrer la paroisse jusqu'en 1972 quand il fut succédé par Rév. Patrick Breton. En plus de ses devoirs pastoraux, Père Breton amena d'autres changements. Les circonstances du temps ont nécessité la vente de l'école séparée no 10 et de la salle paroissiale à des propriétaires privés. Les coûts élevés ont rendu la réalisation de la fête champêtre (social) impossible comme projet financier fructueux. Donc cet événement annuel mémorable est passé à l'histoire de la paroisse.

En avril 1979, le Père Breton annonce à regret sa retraite. C'est Rév. Witold ...


Page 36 - FATHER LEO MacDONELL ADDRESSES DINNER GUESTS ON THE OCCASION OF THE BLESSING OF THE NEW STEEPLE (picture)

Witold Mazurkiewicz, a native of Poland, assumed the administrative duties. Rev. Mazurkiewivz, born in 1922, was a member of the Resistance Movement. He was arrested as a political prisoner and survived imprisonment in Lublin Castle, Poland. He came to the United States to Fargo Diocese in North Dakota and remained for four years before coming to Alexandria diocese. Father adds his personal dimension of deep faith and liturgical customs to our religious celebrations. These are further enhanced by his love of music and artistic talents.

A new sense of freedom, a widening of horizons and an ease in transportation have contributed to St. Margaret's Parish today being considerably smaller than a century ago.

Nonetheless the strong faith of the Highland settlers and their French Canadian neighbours is still evident in today's varied ethnic parochial population. The parishioners give ...

... Mazurkiewicz, originaire de Pologne qui accepte les tâches administratives. Né en 1922, il fut membre du Mouvement de Résistance; il fut arrêté come prisonnier politique mais il a survécu l'emprisonnement au Château Lublin de Pologne. Il est arrivé aux Etats-Unis au diocèse de Fargo, North Dakota où il y est demeuré pendant quatre ans avant de venir au diocèse d'Alexandria. Père Witold ajoute sa touche personnelle de foi profonde et de coutumes liturgiques à nos célébrations religieuses. Celles-ci sont agrémentées aussi par son amour de la musique et par ses talents artistiques.

Un sens nouveau de liberté, un élargissement d'horizons et la facilité de transport ont contribué à rendre la paroisse Ste Marguerite beaucoup plus petite qu'elle était un siècle passé.

Cependant la foi solide des pionniers anglais et français est encore évidente dans notre population paroissiale d'ethnies différentes. Les paroissiens rendent grâce à Dieu Tout-Puissant pour ses nombreuses ...


Page 37 -

... thanks to a mighty God for His many blessings over the years.
For having contributed toward making our centennial a jubilee, by your prayers, your cooperation, your memories and your presence - our sincerest thanks.
"People will not look forward to posterity who never look back to their ancestor". (Edmond Burke)
We look back with pride - we look ahead with the faith of our forefathers...

... bénédictions au cours des années.

Pour avoir contribué à rendre notre centenaire un jubilé, par vos prières, votre co-opération, vos souvenirs et votre présence - nos remerciements sincères.

"Les gens n'envisagent pas l'avenir et la postérité sans jeter un regard en arrière à leurs ancêtres" (Edmond Burke).

Nous regardons le passé avec fierté - nous voyons l'avenir avec la foi de nos prédécesseurs

THE PRESENT SANCTUARY, CHRISTMAS 1981 (picture)
LE SANCTUAIRE ACTUEL, NOEL 1981
 


Page 38 - 

SAINT LAWRENCE CHURCH, Curry Hill, Ontario (picture)

On November 10, 1905, with the permission of His Excellency, the Most Reverend Alexander Macdonell, D.D., Reverend Father Donald C. McRae, pastor of Saint Margaret's Parish, Glen Nevis, signed the contract of construction for Saint Lawrence Chapel, Curry Hill. John A Chisholm and his brother Donald of Alexanria, Ontario countersigned the deed.

The Chapel was erected on the actual site which was generously and graciously donated by a pioneer of the locality, Lawrence J. Sullivan. In his honour Saint Lawrence became the titular of the new chapel. The work and construction was completed on April 7, 1906 and Father Donald C. McRae had the honour and privilege of celebrating the first mass on April 29.

L'ÉGLISE SAINT LAURENT - Curry Hill, Ontario

Le 10 novembre 1905, avec la permission de Son Excellence Monseigneur Alexander Macdonell, D.D., Monsieur l'Abbé Donald C. McRae, curé de la paroisse Ste-Marguerite de Glen Nevis donna le contrat de la construction de la chapelle St-Laurent de Curry Hill à John Chisholm et son frère Donald tous deux d'Alexandria, Ontario.

La construction débuta sur le terrain actuel, généreusement et gratuitement offert par un pionnier de l'endroit, Lawrence J. Sullivan. Ce fut en son honneur que l'on chosit le titulaire de la nouvelle chapelle. On termina les travaux le 7 avril 1906 et Monsieur le curé McRae eut le bonheur d'y célébrer la premiee messe le 29 du même mois.


Page 39 -

ST. MARGARET OF SCOTLAND

St. Margaret of Scotland is 100 years old,
In a century of living great tales could be told
By the Fathers Gauthier, MacDonell and McRae,
Who pioneered our church in its earlier day.
MacDonald, Cameron, Wylie and Foley
Then shouldered the mantle in a manner most holy.
MacDonell, Da Prato and Breton then took hold
And from Poland came Mazurkiewicz, our Father Witold,
To link us more closely to His Holiness Jean Paul,
Who travels the world to give guidance to all.
They were all men of many persuasions,
Men for all seasons, for all occasions.
Two living centenarians named Campeau and Glaude
Have also travelled the 100-year road.
This Margaret of Scotland is steeped in lore
From the thousands of Scots who have gone before.
The French, the Irish, the English as well,
All ethnic groups have their stories to tell.
Our Patron St. Margaret, wife of Malcolm the Third,
Built the oldest Catholic chapel in Edinburgh
to Honor her father-in-law Duncan, in death,
Who was slain in battle by the Chieftain Macbeth.
Such history precedes us, such courage, such zeal,
May the bell of St. Margaret continue to peal
For all our brethren to come when they hear -
Into God's loving arms for the next hundred years.

By Muriel T. Acheson


Page 40 -

Artist: Luc Chartrand (drawing)


Page 41 -

EDUCATION IN GLEN NEVIS

Prior to 1912 the area children gathered in a one room building appropriately referred to as the "Little Red School". Children of all denominations were instructed in the three R's. Research reveals the McLeod, Campbell, Crowley, MacGregor, Morrison, Macdonell, MacDonald, Ouimet, Lefebvre, Besner and Lajeunesse families in attendance.

The teachers usually boarded at Mrs Campbell's, directly north of the school or at the "Little Allan" MacDonald's home, presently owned by the Goulet family. The Red School was located on the north side of the present cemetery, facing the Glen Nevis side road. The building was removed to the property of John Mitchell of Curry Hill to be used in replacing a home destroyed by fire.

In 1912, Father D.R. Macdonald and the following ratepayers called a public meeting: A.P. Rozon, D.J. McDonell, John R. McDonald, Rod A. McLeod, Dan J. McDonald, X Brabant, Alex J. Macdonell. As a result of the meeting it was agreed to establish a Catholic parochial school, St. Margaret of Scotland, S.S. No 10 in Glen Nevis. Elected as trustee were Rev. Dan R. Macdonald, Ferdinand Ouimet and Alex J. Macdonell. The school log book reveals the perseverance of men of the time as Mr. Macdonell, although nearing seventy years old, snowshoed the eight and one half miles to give notice to the Reeve, Mr. MacLennan.

Miss Cassie MacDonald and Miss Blanche Brosseau were engaged to begin classes in Mrs Norman's Hall. In the fall of 1912, S.S. No 10, was opened west of the church and rectory. Classes ...

L'ÉDUCATION À GLEN NEVIS

Avant 1912, les enfants de la région se rassemblaient dans une maison d'une pièce connue comme "la petite école rouge". Peu importe leur dénomination, les élèves étaient instruits dans les trois éléments de base. Les recherches révèlent que les familles McLeod, Campbell, Crowley, MacGregor, Morrison, Macdonell, MacDonald, Ouimet, Lefebvre, Besner et Lajeunesse fréquentaient cette école. Les instituteurs avaient habitude de pensionner chez Mme Campbell dont la demmeure était située au nord de l'école ou à la maison de "Little Allan" MacDonald, où réside maintenant la famille Goulet. L'école rouge, sise au côté nord du cimetière actuel faisait face au chemin rural de Glen Nevis et fut déménagée sur la propriété de John Mitchell de Curry Hill pour remplacer une maison détruite par le feu.

En 1912, Père D.R. Macdonald et les contribuables suivants ont demandé une réunion publique: A.P. Rozon, D.J. MacDonell, John R McDonald, Rod A McLeod, Dan J. McDonald, X Brabant, Alex J. Macdonell. Par conséquent, il fut résolu d'établir une école paroissiale catholique, l'école No 10 Ste Marguerite d'Ecosse à Glen Nevis. Rév. Dan R. Macdonald, Ferdinand Ouimet et Alex J. Macdonell furent élus commissaires. Le régistre de l'école démontre la persévérance de certains hommes du temps, par exemple de M. Macdonell qui malgré ses quatre-ving ans presque sonnés, marchaient en raquettes les huit milles et demi ipour se rendre à une réunion chez le Préfet, M. MacLennan.

Mlle Cassie MacDonald et Mlle Blanche Brosseau furent engagées pour ...


Page 42 -

... were conducted in two rooms. The Sisters of Providence accepted the request to provide teachers and did so until 1950 when the Sisters of Holy Cross came to St. Margaret's.

Many students from Quebec boarded in the area and attended the separate school. Bilingualism flourished as Sister rapidly translated her lessons from one language to another. The Sisters withdrew from St. Margaret's around 1960 and among the lay teachers hired were Charles MacDonald, Estelle Brazeau, Diane Levert and Denise Legault.

St. Margaret of Scotland closed its doors in June 1969. The building was first used as a parish centre, then sold and is now a private dwelling.

Through the years, as the population increased in the concessions, local one or two room schools were formed. When consolidation of schools became the vogue an area school was built and the children were transported by bus to North Lancaster or St. Raphael's. One by one the community schools closed.

... commencer la classe dans la salle de Mme Norman. A l'automne 1910, l'école séparée No 10 fut ouverte à l'ouest de l'église et du presbytère. Les cours étaient enseignés dans deux pièces. Les Soeurs de la Providence ont accepté de fournir les institutrices jusqu'à la venue des religieuses de Ste Croix en 1950.

Plusieurs étudiants de Québec pensionnaient dans les environs et fréquentaient l'école séparée. Le bilinguisme débutait alors que la Soeur traduisait rapidement ses leçons d'une langue à l'autre. Les religieuses ont quitté Ste Marguerite vers 1960 et parmi les professeurs laïques se trouvaient Charles MacDonald, Estelle Brazeau, Diane Levert et Denise Legault.

L'école Ste Marguerite No 10 ferma ses portes en juin 1969. L'édifice fut utilisé comme un centre paroissial et fut ensuite vendu pour devenir une demeure privée.

Au fil des années, comme la population croissait dans les concessions, il fut de mise de bâtir des écoles locales d'une ou deux pièces. Mais quand le regroupement des écoles devint nécessaire, une école séparée fut construite et les élèves voyageaient en autobus, soit à North Lancaster ou à St. Raphaël. Les petites écoles locales fermaient leurs portes une à une...

LAST CLASS AT ST. MARGARETS' - JUNE 1969 (picture)

Front: L to R - Johnny McLeod, Laurie McRae, Charlie McRae, Lorna McRae, Janice MacDonald, Candice MacDonald, Jennifer McKay, Blake McKay, Stuart MacDonald, Danny McKay, tommy McRae, Mrs Denise Legault.

2nd row: Mrs Estelle Brazeau, Jenny Lyn MacDonald, Ellen McRae, Kathy MacDonald, Lorna Mary McRae, Mary Lou McRae, Teresa McLeod, Margaret McRae, Kathy McKinnon, Nellie McLeod.

Last Row: Roddie McRae, Susan McLeod, Findlay McLeod, Michael Castonguay, Sally McLeod, Robert Cousineau, Lee MacDonald, Jimmy McRae, Gerard MacDonald.

St.Margaret of Scotland 1912-1969

Brazeau School

École St.Jean-Baptiste - R.C.S.S. No 13

Old Glen Norman School

Condie School

Red School - First school in Glen Nevis

Fourth concession school


Page 43 -  Pictures of seven small schools to be sold or closed.

TENDERS WANTED

Tenders wanted, read the paper.
And I could scarce see for tears,
For it was our old school house
That had stood so many years
As it was no longer needed
They had put it up for sale
It would have to be demolished
Every shingle, board and nail.
I guess the building doesn't matter,
They can tear it all apart,
But they can't destroy the memories
That are deep within my heart.
Children came from twenty farms
Scattered over the country side.
There was a stable for the horses
of the kids that had to ride.
Now the houses are all vacant,
That is all but three or four,
Only one child goes to school
And a bus comes to the door.
These changes may be necessary,
It seems to be the modern trend,
But I wish we had more neighbours
For every neighbour is a friend.


Page 44 -

BRIDGE END SCHOOL CHILDREN, CIRCA 1891 (picture)


Front row - L to R

Oscar Ranger, V. Ranger, W. Gordon, Delima Valade, Maggie Johnson, D. McRae, Mary McRae, Hannah Beauchamp Findley McCuaig, Alexander McDonald, Mary Jane Johnson, M. Bradley, Angus McGillis

Middle Row - L to R

John J. McDonell, D. Rozon, ......., Flora McKay, A. Ranger, Pomell Rozon, Joe Valade, Annie (Jim) McDonald, A.J. McRae, M.A. McGillis, Rory McDonald, Flora Rozon.

Back Row: Unknown

OLD NORTH LANCASTER SCHOOL CIRCA 1947


Page 45 -

CHILDREN, CIRCA 1914, S.S. NO 12, 9TH CONCESSION

INTERIOR OF A ONE ROOM SCHOOL (BRIDGE END)


Page 46 -

MARYVALE ABBEY

In 1906 Msgr D.R. Macdonald became pastor in Glen Nevis. Father "DAN" was an advocate of Catholic education and saw the need for an institution for higher learning for local children.

Under his leadership, approval was obtained from the Bishop of Alexandria and Archbishop of Kingston to have Sisters take charge of the separate school and high school. The Sister of Providence accepted the challenge.

When the Sisters arrived October 2, 1912 neither elementary nor high school building was ready for commencement of classes. Lessons were conducted in the parish hall and the Sisters lived in the nearby house, formerly occupied by the sexton.

On June 22, 1913 Bishop Macdonell laid the cornerstone for the Abbey. For the occasion, Rev. Father Dowdall of Eganville preached in English and Msgr Ewen Macdonald spoke in French.

By November 1913, part of the new building was occupied. First Mass in the chapel was offered on December 27, 1913. On June 10, 1914 the Abbey was officially opened.

By 1916 the number of teachers had increased from the original four to six. Maryvale was established as a centre for Departmental High School examinations. Two Sisters conducted music classes in piano and violin.

There were as many as thirty-two boarders. The students received an excellent academic education. As withness to this we find graduates leading the fields of medicine, politics, scientific research and education.

Sister Mary Jerome, an art specialist, taught art appreciation, was ...

LE COUVENT MARYVALE

En 1906, Monseigneur D.R. Macdonald devenait curé à Glen Nevis. Père "Dan" était un fervent de l'éducation catholique et voyait le besoin d'une nouvelle institution pour permettre aux élèves de la région de poursuivre leurs études.

Grâce à ses entreprises, il obtint la permission de l'évêque d'Alexandria et de l'archevêque de Kingston d'avoir des religieuses pour s'occuper de l'école primaire et secondaire. Ce sont les Soeurs de la Providence qui ont accepté de relever le défi.

A l'arrivée des religieuses le 2 octobre 1912, ni l'école élémentaire ou secondaire n'était prête pour le début des classes. Les leçons étaient données à la salle paroissiale et les soeurs vivaient dans une maison voisine, où déjà résidait le bedeau.

C'est le 22 juin 1913 que l'évêque Macdonell déposait la pierre d'angle pour le couvent. A cette occasion, Rév. Père Dowdall d'Eganville prêchait en anglais alors que Monseigneur Ewen Macdonald s'adressait en français.

Une section de la nouvelle bâtisse était prête en novembre 1913; la première messe dans la chapelle fut offerte le 27 décembre 1913 et le 10 juin 1914, c'était l'ouverture officielle du couvent Maryvale.

En 1916 on comptait six institutrices, deux de plus que le nombre original. Maryvale devenait un centre pour les examens secondaires du Département. Deux religieuses enseignaient la musique, soient des cours de piano et de violon.

Il y avait au-delà de trente-deux pensionnaires. Les élèves recevaient une excellente éducation. Des gradués célèbres dans les domaine de la médecine...


Page 47 -

instrumental in establishing a library and staged several dramatic productions. "The Martyrdom of St. Lawrence", "Mary Magdalen" and "St Eulia" will not be forgotten by the students who took part in them.

Father Dan contributed greatly to the education with lectures on Church History, interpretations of literary classics and slides of the world's best art and architecture.

In 1924, electricity from a Home Plant replaced the original gas lights.

In 1940, a new liturgical altar was placed in the chapel, a gift of former pupils.

In 1944, Father Charles Bathurst, S.J., a graduate preached the student's retreat.

In 1945, Father Jerome Rozon, a former pupil was ordained in the parish and offered his first low Mass in the convent chapel.

In 1948 at the district meeting of the Ontario Catholic Teachers' Association held in the parish hall, the guest speaker was Duncan McDonald, a graduate, just returning from studying at Oxford as a Rhodes scholar. Four Glen Nevis graduates of the High School lost their life in W.W. 11: Reuben Rozon, John Maville, Patrick Quinn, Kenneth Jardin.

Several Glen Nevis residents became staff members at Maryvale: Sister M. Thracilla McDonell, sister M. Frances Clare McDonald, Sara Bathurst, Dorothy McDonald.

A decline in enrolment and free bus transportation to area high schools contributed towards the Sisters of Providence Community withdrawing from Glen Nevis in 1950.

To help alleviate the parish debt, the convent school was sold to the Sisters of Holy Cross. The Sisters increased bilingual education in the school. The number of boarders ...

... de la politique, de la recherche scientifique et de l'éducation en ont témoigné la valeur académique.

Soeur Marie Jérôme, spécialiste dans les arts, enseignait l'appréciation de l'art et fut responsable dans la fondation d'une bibliothèque. En plus, elle mis en scène plusieurs productions dramatiques, entre autres "Le martyre de St. Laurent", "Marie Madeleine", et Ste Eulalie" dont se souviennent encore plusieurs acteurs étudiants.

Père Dan a grandement contribué à l'éducation par ses lectures sur l'Histoire de l'Eglise, par ses interprétations des classiques littéraires et par ses affiches des meilleures oeuvres d'art et d'architecture du monde.

En 1924, l'électricité provenant d'une génératrice sur place a remplacé les lampes à gaz.

En 1940, un nouvel autel liturgique, don des anciens élèves, fut placé dans la chapelle.

Un gradué, le Père Charles Bathurst, S.J. a prêché la retraite des étudiants en 1944.

En 1945, Père Jérôme Rozon, un ancien élève fut ordonné dans la paroisse et a offert sa première messe dans la chapelle du couvent.

En 1948, lors de l'asemblée de district de l'Association Ontarienne des Enseignants Cahtoliques qui avait lieu à la salle paroissiale, l'invité d'honneur était Duncan McDonald, un gradué qui revenait d'études à Oxford comme boursier de Rhodes. Quatre finissants de l'Ecole Secondaire de Glen Nevis ont perdu la vie lors de la deuxième guerre mondiale: Reuben Rozon, John Maville, Patrick Quinn et Kenneth Jardin.

Plusieurs résidentes de Glen Nevis sont devenues membres du personnel enseignant de Maryvale: Soeur M. Thrasilla McDonell, Soeur M. Frances Clare McDonald, Sara Bathurst, ...


Page 48 -

decreased and in 1965 the Holy Cross Community retired from the "Glen". Maryvale Abbey became the Megan Nursing Home in 1967. At present the building is unoccupied.

... Dorothy McDonald.

A la suite de la baisse d'inscription et du transport gratuit par autobus aux écoles secondaires régionales, la communauté des Soeurs de la Providence a laissé Glen Nevis en 1950.

Pour alléger la dette paroissiale, le couvent Maryvale fut vendu aux religieuses de Ste-Croix. Les soeurs ont augmenté l'éducation bilingue dans l'école. Vers 1965, les pensionnaires diminuaient et la Commuanuté Ste-Croix s'est retirée de Glen Nevis. En 1967, le couvent Maryvale fut converti en hospice sous la direction des Meaghen. Présentement, l'édifice est inoccupé.

 

THE SISTERS OF PROVIDENCE (picture)

Maryvale Abbey


Back row l to r: Sr. Mary Francis Clare, Sr. Mary Lawrence, Sr. Mary Remigius.

Middle row: Sr. Rosemary, Sr. Mary John (Downey), Sr. Mary Terrence.

Front row: Sr. M. Thracilla (Jennie Kenneth), Sr. M. Electa (Murphy)

MARYVALE ABBEY


Page 49 -

PARISH HALL

Location for first classes for Roman Catholic School

MARYVALE STUDENTS WITH SISTER MARY ELECTA

Back Row: Walter Maheu, Charles Maheu, Charlie Bathurst, Richard Gainer, Charles McDonald, Barton McDonell.

Middle Row: Boarder, Frances Macdonald

Front Row: Noelle Séguin, Boarder, Margaret H.F. McDonald, Beatrice Mullen


Page 50 -

MARYVALE STUDENTS WITH FATHER JAMES A. WYLIE

MARYVALE GRADUATES


Page 51 -

SISTERS OF PROVIDENCE bid farewell to Maryvale Abbey, Glen Nevis, Ontario. The above picture was taken at an Open House held in their honour by the Glen Nevis Subdivision of the C.W.L. of Canada. Shown are: Front Row - left to right: Sister Mary Thracilla, Superior; Sister Mary Electa; Sister Mary John; Mrs John D.A. Macdonald, immediate past president; Sister Mary Dunston; Sister Rosemary and Sister Mary Frances Clare. Second Row - Sister Mary Lawrence; Miss Christina McDonald, president; Rev. J.A. Wylie; Mrs James A. McDonell, Secretary; Sister Mary June Back Row - Miss Eva Maheu, Treasurer; and Mrs Raymond McDonell, Publicity Convener.

...

I REMEMBER THE MARYVALERS (A eulogy to the Sisters at Glen Nevis) written by Anna Margaret MacDonald, Maryvale'42

I remember the Maryvalers - the faculty of a small establishment always more concerned with the quality of its output than the quantity. For almost four decades under the able direction of the Sisters of Providence, our Maryvale Abbey flourished; but now rests behind closed doors for lack of raw material.

The Reverend Sisters, the worthy occupants of our noted Abbey since its foundation, have taken their leave. They have gone because they feel that the dozen or so pupils now resident in the section can no longer warrant a staff of teachers with their qualifications. The branches of all the old family trees of the parish which have been dwindling for the past few years, have now reached an all-time low; and have left a breach which would have to bridge ten years to meet the housefuls of hopefuls who would then be ready to cluster its halls again. It would seem there is a missing generation; a chain with a link too weak to stretch across the chasm.

The parishioners did not like to see their valuable friends depart. Apart from their teaching duties, they could be counted on for so may things. It was the Sisters who trained the choir and taught the altar boys. When the tots prepared for their First Communion and Confirmation, it was the Sisters who drilled until their first


Page 52 -

important march to the altar was as picturesque as it was jubilant. When the Church's great festive seasons rolled around, it was the Sisters' artistic decoration that added splendour to the occasion. Yes, for countless reasons, for works perhaps never fully appreciated until their absence brings them to light - St. Margaret's will miss the Sisters.

But the Maryvalers will miss St. Margaret's too. There are those who have spent years of their life there, teaching, giving their all. There are those, who on completion of their high school course, followed the divine beckoning and are now instructors themselves. There are those who were daughters from the parish, happy as religious with the rare privilege of remaining in their native locality. In accordance with their vow of obedience, Sisters must go as their superiors will; but there can always be an additional pang on pulling up your roots after "you have spent a heap of living in a place to make it home".

Maryvale Abbey was founded and for many years fondly guided by the Right Reverend Monsignor D.R. Macdonald, and as "Father Dan's Maryvale" it may always be remembered by those who have gone through its doors; but to the Sisters goes no small share of credit for the work they turned out which put it on the map.

The Principal of a large city school once visited Maryvale for the purpose of learning just what system was used to achieve such results of renown. In all honesty, and at a loss, I suppose for something better to say, our Principal explained: "But we have no special system, the pupils just cooperate". Mere cooperation - as if that were something that just happened in a school, or could be induced by force. I am sure the disappointed man went away wondering what the pupils in that corner of the province had that made them so docile to the will of a superior.

However, I am sure the good Sister had no intention of deceiving her visitor. Maryvale's system had become so routine it could not be analyzed as any particular formula -like one of grandma's prize cakes, it was just a pinch of this and a dab of that. While no teacher can teach unless the pupil has the will to learn, that same teacher can do much in training that will to conform to rules and regulations, and it was in this phase that the Maryvalers excelled as teachers. It was not left to the pupil to decide whether or not he would bother to study; his fate in this category was decided when he crossed the threshold at M.V.A. "Render to God just return for each talent He has loaned you" counselled the Sisters, and they knew just how to make you render.If anyone missed a class for sufficient reason, they would always coach him after hours until he caught up. When too many home chores made school work discouraging, they were always right in there encouraging him not to lose hope. And if there were some whom only nagging would goad, nag them they did. No one was allowed to sit unoccupied; for pupils to whom learning came easy there was always a little extra tacked on to make use of that additional intelligence. And for those who found learning impossible - well who knows what their prayers have done. The sisters, schooled in thrift, could not bear to see parents sacrifice in vain that their children might attend school, so each pupil was an additional challenge, another responsibility to account for, and if any one failed it was because his mental capacity just could not absorb or cooperation just would not be wheedled in any way whatsoever.

When it came to teaching there was so little they didn't seam to know. I remember one afternoon we were studying a poem on what make the world go round and Sister attempted to explain the difference between love and infatuation. So we sixteeners, all wise in the ways of wordly woo (we thought), masked our smiles of


Page 53 -

amusement and sat back to tolerate the summary that would tell us the little bit she knew. At the moment perhaps it didn't sink in too far. But I have never forgotten one simple little sentence she gave that day -thousands of books on the grand passion could be condensed into no more complete definition - "You can't love anyone you can't respect". And if you think that sounds simple, think about it some more.

I have another favourite quotation from the lips of one of the Maryvalers and which, I think, was original. It could very well be the answer to the never-ending question, "What will the neighbours think of me?" So simple - "Look after your character and your reputation will look after itself".

Yes our old Maryvalers have gone - if it can be said that people are ever really gone after they have left behind them hundreds of hearts and minds enriched with the high ideals they themselves had exemplified during their years of devoted service in the community.

CLIPPING FROM "THE GLENGARRY NEWS" ALEXANDRIA, ONTARIO - 1950 (picture)

Communion Breakfast

L to R: Allan Kennedy, Mary McDonald, Pat McBean, Rose-Marie Rashotte

ON THE RIVER BEAUDETTE, 1932 (picture)

Back Row: Pat Jardin, M. Lefebvre, Janet (A.N.) MacDonald, Mary and Isobel McKay
Middle Row: Boarders
Front Row: Marguerite Cadieux, Mary (Rory) McDonald, Elizabeth(D.J.) McDonell


Page 54 -

ECOLE SAINTE THERESE,
NORTH LANCASTER, 1955 (picture)

ECOLE STE THERESE

French in School from 1935 to ...today

We want to give tribute to the mothers of this parish, our first educators who have assured the survival of the French language in our homes for the past five decades.

In our area, in the mid-thirties, seven local concession schools received French students. Few teachers in that time dared share their basic knowledge of French.

Si in September 1935 at school no 8 in North Lancaster, an hour of French was taught every day. Some teachers devoted to the cause were: Mr. Ruben Rozon, Mrs. Germaine Vaillancourt, Mr. Edouard Brunet, Mr. René Lacombe and Mrs. Cécile Vincent.

In 1953 the local school board under the presidency of Mr. Paul Roy ...

LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE A L'ÉCOLE DE 1935 JUSQU'À...AUJOURD'HUI

Nous voulons ici rendre hommage aux mamans de cette paroisse, premières éducatrices qui pendant cinq décennies ont assuré au foyer la survie de notre langue française.

Dans notre localité, au milieu des années trente, sept petites écoles de rang recevaient les jeunes étudiants francophones. Peu de professeurs du temps osaient dispenser quelques notions élémentaires de français.

C'est ainsi qu'en septembre 1935, à l'école numéro 8 de North-Lancaster, on aborde l'enseignement de la langue maternelle à raison tout d'abord d'une heure par jour. Se sont dévoués à cette tâche les professeurs suivant: M. Ruben Rozon, Mme Germaine Vaillancourt, ...


Page 55 -

bought some land from Mr. Urgel Castonguay where St. Théresa School now stands. It was the wish of the local population to build a separate Catholic school directed by the Sisters of the Holy Cross. Pine Hill joined our ranks. It was then that the first bus transportation system was organized. From 1954 to 1966 the following sisters were principals: Sister Carolina Bouchard, Sister Marie-Rose Vaillancourt, Sister Elaine Robitaille and Sister Marie Donat. Then in 1966, our school became under the lay direction of Mr. René Lacombe until 1971, then of Mr. Maurice Léger, of Mrs Raymond Labelle and of Mr. Donald Ménard, The latter presently supervises the destiny of our students from pre-kindergarten to grade 8.

St. Theresa School reflects the image of the citizens of the community: it is open and progressive. Twice it was enlarged; once, some grades were removed, later others were added according to the needs of the student population. Such are the whims of evolution. Hats off to the teachers who have moulded you, to those whom you alone remember the names. With you I offer them our heartfelt thanks.

Gisèle Giroux Besner.

... M. René Lacombe, Mme Cécile Vincent et M. Edouard Brunet.

En 1953, la commission scolaire locale présidée par M. Paul Roy fait l'acquisition d'un terrain de M. Urgel Castonguay. C'est l'emplacement actuel de l'école Ste-Thérèse. Selon le désir des contribuables, on bâtit une école qui sera école séparée catholique dirigée par les religieuses de Ste-Croix. Pine Hill joint nos rangs. C'est alors que le premier transport par autobus scolaire s'organise. Se sont succédé à la direction de l'école Ste-Thérèse de 1954 à 1966 les religieuses suivantes; Soeur Carolina Bouchard, Soeur Marie-Rose Vaillancourt, Soeur Elaine Robitaille et Soeur Marie Donat. Puis, en 1966, notre école passe sous la direction laïque d'abord de M. René Lacombe jusqu'en 1971, ensuite de M. Maurice Léger, puis de Mme Raymonde Labelle et de M. Donald Ménard.

Ce dernier dirige actuellement la destinée de nos écoliers du pré-jardin à la 8e année.

L'école Ste-Thérèse demeure l'image des citoyens de l'endroit: elle est ouverte et progressive. En deux fois, elle s'est agrandie, tantôt on a enlevé des années du cours, tantôt on en a ajouté selon les besoins de l'heure de la population estudiantine. C'est l'évolution qui le veut ainsi. Chapeau bas à tous les professeurs qui t'ont façonné et dont toi seul peux dire les noms. Avec toi, non sans un brin d'émotion, je leur dis de tout coeur, un gros merci.

Gisèle Giroux Besner

BLESSING OF SCHOOL IN NORTH LANCASTER, 1955 (picture)


Page 56 -

SCHOOL TRUSTEES 1960

Donat Major, Rolland Glaude, Henri Théoret, Léonide Samson, Conrad Levert, François Major.

Le personnel enseignant de l'Ecole Ste-Thérèse de l'Enfant-Jésus, North Lancaster, Ontario

The teaching Staff St. Therese of the Child Jesus Central School.


Page 57 -

WE ARE BAPTIZED IN CHRIST...

Fr. Breton baptizes Andrea Hayward, daughter of Peter and Lynn (McLeod) Hayward.

The Ouimet families celebrate the christening of Crystal Lee at the home of her grandparents. Mr. and Mrs Donal Ouimet.


Page 58 -

BODY OF CHRIST...

Sister St. Veronica and her First Communion Class

L to R: Archie Maville, Roddie McLeod, Murielle Goulet, Gerald McLeod, Leona Derouchie, Hugh MacDonald, Ian MacDonald.

SEALED WITH THE CHRISM OF SALVATION

L to R: Lyne Besner, Dominic Besner, Roxanne Bourdeau with His Excdellency, Bishop LaRocque.


Page 59 -

CALLED TO THE PRIESTHOOD

YOU ARE A PRIEST FOREVER, ACCORDING TO THE ORDER OF MELCHISEDECH...

May the Lord bless you and keep you:

May he show His face to you and have mercy upon You:

May He turn His countenance to you, and give you peace.

May the Lord bless you. Amen

from our parish we have been honoured with seven priests.

FATHER ALEX McDONALD SJ
The son of Mr. and Mrs Peter McDonald, he was ordained in 1920. He did parish work in Canada for 29 years before going to Florida in 1951. He died in 1970.

PERE ALEX McDONALD S.J.
Fils de M. et Mme Peter McDonald, il fut ordonné en 1920. Il a oeuvré dans les paroisses du Canada pendant 29 ans avant d'aller en Floride en 1951. Il est décédé en 1970.


Page 60 -

FATHER CHARLES MCDONALD

He is the son of Hughie F. and Annabelle McDonald. He was ordained in Glen Nevis June 14, 1969. In addition to regular parochial duties, "Father Charlie" as he is affectionately known in his home parish of St. Margaret's, is very active in Youth Groups and as Retreat leader. He is now pastor at St. Anthony's in Apple Hill.

Father Charles McDonald is ordained in St. Margarets - June 1969

PERE CHARLES MCDONALD

Il est le fils de Hughie F. et d'Annabelle McDonald. Le 14 juin 1969, il fut ordonné prêtre à Glen Nevis. En plus de ses fonctions paroissiales, le "Père Charlie", tel qu'il est connu intimement dans sa paroisse natale de Ste Marguerite, demeure très actif dans les Groupes Jeunesse et comme organisateur de retraites. Il est présentement curé à la paroisse St-Antoine à Apple Hill.


Page 61 -

FATHER JEROME ROZON
He is the son of Alderic and Alice Rozon. He was ordained Cleric of St. Viator in 1945 in Glen Nevis and is at present pastor of St. Francis of Assisi in Kingston

Father Jerome Rozon's - First Mass, 1945

PERE JEROME ROZON
Il est le fils d'Aldéric et d'Alice Rozon. Il fut ordonné Clerc de St-Viateur à Glen Nevis en juin 1945 et est aujourd'hui pasteur de la paroisse Saint François d'Assise à Kingston

FATHER CHARLES BATHURST, SJ
The son of Mr. and Mrs Duncan Bathurst, he was ordained July 25, 1936 into the Jesuit Order. He served in Halifax, at Loyola in Montreal and Port Arthur, Ontario. He is currently at St. Mary's University in Halifax.

Mr. & Mrs. Duncan Bathurst and their son, Father Charles Bathurst SJ

PERE CHARLES BATHURST S.J.
Fils de M. et Mme Duncan Bathurst, il fut ordonné le 25 juillet 1936 dansl'Ordre des Jésuites. Il a oeuvré à Halifax, à Loyola à Montréal et à Port Arthur, Ontario. Actuellement, il est à l'Université Ste Marie à Halifax.

FATHER HENRI OUIMET
He was the son of Ferdinand and Delima Ouimet. On June 11,1936, he was ordained at St.Finnan's. He served in various parishes in the diocese. He died in 1981.

PERE HENRI OUIMET
Il était le fils de Ferdinand et Delima Ouimet et devint prêtre le 11 juin 1936 à la cathédrale St. Finnans. Il a desservi plusieurs paroisses du diocèse avant sa mort en 1981.


Page 62 -

FATHER FERNAND BRAZEAU C.S.V.
The son of Arthur and Mary Jane Brazeau and adoptive son of Omer and Bernadette Chénier, he was ordained in Rigaud in the Congregation of the Clerics of St.Viator on June 16,1940. He spent many years in this area as an educator at the former Classical College on Windmill Point. In later years, he served at St. Francis de Sales in Cornwall and lastly at Our Lady of the Rosary at Chrysler. He died October 19,1980.

PERE FERNAND BRAZEAU
Fils d'Arthur et de Marie Jeanne Brazeau et fils adoptif de Omer et Bernadette Chénier, il fut ordonné le 16 juin 1940 à Rigaud. Il a passé plusieurs années dans la Congrégation des Clercs de St-Viateur dans cette région comme éducateur au Collège Classique de la Pointe Windmill à Cornwall. Plus tard il fut actif à la paroisse St-François de Sales à Cornwall et enfin à la paroisse Notre-Dame du Rosaire à Chrysler. Il est décédé le 19 octobre 1980.

FATHER RANALD MACDONALD
He was born in 1856, the son of James and Christina Macdonald. Ordained to the priesthood July 26,1891, he served for many years throughout the diocese including Greenfield, Williamstown and Cornwall. He died in 1935.

PÈRE RANALD MACDONALD
Né en 1856, il était le fils de James et de Christina Macdonald. C'est le 26 juillet 1891 qu'il fut ordonné prêtre. Il a servi le diocèse pendant plusieurs années, soit à Greenfield, à Williamstown et à Cornwall. Il mourut en 1935.


Page 63 -

APPELES A LA VOCATION RELIGIEUSE
"La moisson est grande, mais les ouvriers peu nombreux"

BROTHER ROLAND LACOMBE, SJ
He is the son of Hyacinthe and Mélitime Lacombe. He has served more than fifty years in the Brotherhood of the Society of Jesus and is currently living in Quebec City.

FRERE ROLAND LACOMBE S.J.
Il est le fils d'Hyacinthe at de Mélitime Lacombe. Il est toujours actif dans l'ordre des Frères Jésuites depuis plus de cinquante ans et demeure aujourd'hui dans la ville de Québec

Une réplique de l'église Ste Marguerite construite pour le centenaire par Hervé Ouimet de la 8e concession. 

A replica of St. Margaret's built for her centennial by Hervé Ouimet of the 8th concession.

LA CRÈCHE
Les statues ont été données par M. et Mme Donat Major en 1957

MANGER SCENE
These figures were donated by Mr. and Mrs Donat Major in 1957


Page 64 -

"Everyone that hath left house or brethren or sisters or father or mother or lands for my name sake shall receive a hundred fold and shall possess life everlasting" St. Matt. 19:29

Many young ladies from St. Margaret's elected to follow a religious life. Of these a number chose Sisters of Providence.

Plusieurs jeunes filles de Ste Marguerite ont choisi de répondre à la vocation religieuse. Parmi elles plusieurs sont entrées dans la Communauté des Soeurs de la Providence.

SISTER STELLA McRAE lived in Curry Hill when it was a mission connected with St. Margaret of Scotland Parish. Sister was baptized in Glen Nevis. She entered December 8,1920.
SOEUR STELLA McRAE
vivait à Curry Hill quand cet endroit éait une mission reliée à la Paroisse Ste-Marguerite d'Ecosse. Elle fut baptisée à Glen Nevis et devint religieuse le 8 décembre 1920.

SISTER MARY REGINA ELLEN QUINN was born in Curry Hill and entered the Sisters of Providence in 1890. Her father and mother were the late Patrick Joseph Quinn and Mary Gorman. She died very young in life, forty years of age and was about fifteen years in religion.
SOEUR MARIE REGINA ELLEN QUINN
est né à Curry Hill, fille de Patrick Joseph Quinn et de Mary Gorman. Elle est entrée en 1890 chez les Soeurs de la Providence. Après environ quinze ans de vie religieuse, elle mourut très jeune à l'âge de quarante ans.


Page 65 -

SISTER EMILY McDONALD, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Rod J. McDonald entered September 14,1935. She taught at Glen nevis for several years.
SOEUR EMILY McDONALD fille de M. et Mme Rod J. McDonald est entrée le 14 septembre 1935. Elle a enseigné à Glen Nevis pendant plusieurs années.

SISTER JANET ISOBEL McDONELL, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth McDonell entered August 15,1925. She was Mother Superior for several years at Maryvale Abbey.
SOEUR JANET ISOBEL McDONELL, fille de M. et Mme Kenneth McDonell entra en communauté le 15 août 1925. Elle fut mère supérieure plusieurs années au Couvent Maryvale.

SISTER MARGARET McDONALD, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Rod J. McDonald entered September 8,1930. She was Superior General 1971-1977.
SOEUR MARGARET McDONALD, fille de M. et Mme Rod J. McDonald est entrée le 8 septembre 1930 et fut Supérieure Générale de 1971 à 1977.

SISTER MARY JOHN, sister of Mrs. John McLeod and Mrs. Adrien McKinnon entered in fall of 1941.
SOEUR MARY JOHN, soeur de Mme John McLeod et de Mme Adrien McKinnon est entrée à l'automne 1941.


Page 66 -

SISTER NOELLA SÉGUIN, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Conrad Séguin entered August 15,1950.
SOEUR NOELLA SÉGUIN, fille de M. et Mme Conrad Séguin devint religieuse le 15 août 1950.

SISTER LYDIA VINCENT, sister of Mrs. Rudolphe Rozon entered the Sisters of Providence in Quebec in 1921.
SOEUR LYDIA VINCENT, soeur de Mme Rodolphe Rozon est entrée chez les Religieuses de la Providence à Québec en 1921.

SISTER ANNIE DUPERON, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Duperon also entered Sisters of Providence in Quebec about 1939.
SOEUR ANNE DUPERON, fille de M. et Mme Joseph Duperon est aussi devenue religieuse de la Providence à Québec vers l'année 1939. 

RELIGIOUS IN OTHER COMMUNITIES
RELIGIEUSES DANS D'AUTRES COMMUNAUTÉS

SISTER DANIEL, sister of Mrs. D.J. McDonell of Lot 16, Concession 6, entered Sisters of St.Anne in 1896.
SOEUR DANIEL, soeur de Mme D.J. McDonell du lot 16, concession 6, est entrée chez les Soeurs de Ste Anne en 1896.


Page 67 -

SISTER MARY MACDOUGALL, daughter of Mr. and Mrs Donald MacDougall entered Hotel Dieu in 1898.
SOEUR MARY MACDOUGALL, fille de M. et Mme Donald MacDougall est entrée à l'Hôtel-Dieu en 1898.

SISTER ROSANNE ROZON, daughter of Mr. and Mrs Pascal Rozon entered in 1900 in Montreal the Sisters of Charity, familiarly known as the Grey Nuns.
SOEUR ROSANNA ROZON, fille de M. et Mme Pascal Rozon est entrée en 1900 chez les Soeurs de la Charité, communauté bien connue sous le nom des Soeurs Grises.

SISTER ALINE CASTONGUAY, niece of Sister Rosanna Rozon entered Sisters of Charity, Montreal in 1930.
SOEUR ALINE CASTONGUAY, nièce de Soeur Rozon est entrée chez les Soeurs (Grises) de la Charité en 1930 à Montréal.

SISTER TERESA LECLAIR, daughter of Alex Le Clair and niece of Father Masterson entered Sisters of Charity about 1900.
SOEUR TERESA LE CLAIR, fille de M. Alex Le Clair et nièce du Père Masterson est devenue religieuse de la Charité vers l'année 1900.


Page 68 -

Sister Josephine SABOURIN, concession 6, daughter of Theodore and Mary Sabourin entered The Little Sisters of the Poor about 1900.

Sister Margaret MONTROY...

Sister Celima MAJOR...

Sister Annie McDonald...


Page 69 -

Sister Sadie McDONALD...

Sister Lillian BATHURST...

Sister Eileen BATHURST...

Sister Cecile POIRIER...


Page 70 -

SISTER SARAH HANNAH MCPHERSON was the daughter of John McPherson and Abigail Bathurst from Dalhousie Mills. She entered Sisters of Holy Cross on September 4,1907 and was known as Sister of St.Irma. She died September 11,1937.
SOEUR SARAH HANNAH MCPHERSON était la fille de John McPherson et d'Abigail Bathurst de Dalhousie Mills. Elle entra dans la Communauté Ste Croix, le 4 septembre 1907 et était connue comme Soeur M. de Ste Irma. Elle est décédée le 11 septembre 1937.

Left to Right:
Sr. Annuncielle Bourgon, Sr. Sadie McDonald (Sr Winnifred), Sr. Margaret McCosham (Sr. Annunciata), Mrs Sarah McCosham, Sr. Annabelle McCosham (Sr. Ligouri) - unknown.

centre front: Sr. Annie McDonald (Sr Ethelreda)

The McCosham Sisters vacationed regularly in Glen Nevis with their sister, Mrs D. James McDonell (Mary Jane McCosham).


Page 71 -

EARLY WEDDINGS .... AND THE TWO SHALL BECOME ONE...

Mr. and Mrs. John Stewart (Cassie "Rory Archie" McDonald)
Mr. and Mrs Christopher Gill McDonell (Annie MacDonald)
Mr. and Mrs James McRae (Margaret McDonald)
Mr. and Mrs. Roderick McDonald (Annie McDonell)


Page 72 -


Mr. and Mrs Omer Sauvé (Alexandrine Pilon)
Mr. and Mrs. Alderic Rozon (Alice Lalonde)
Mr. and Mrs Alderic Bourbonnais (Delima Valade)
Mr. and Mrs Joseph Laframboise (Melatine Rozon)


Page 73 -

Mr. and Mrs. Henri Rozon (Eugénie Lefebvre)
Mr. and Mrs. Donat Major (Zulma Filfe)
Mr. and Mrs. Peter MacLeod (Mary McDonald)


Page 74 -

GOLDEN JUBILARIANS

Mr. and Mrs Peter McLeod (Mary McDonald)
Mr. and Mrs Eugene Maheu (Josephine Montroy)
Mr. and Mrs John A. MacDonell (Margaret MacDougald)
Mr. and Mrs Hugh F. McDonald (Annabelle McDonell)


Page 75 -

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Bathurst (Edna Proctor)
Mrs and Mrs Omer Sauvé daughter Dolores Ouimet grandson Yvon Ouimet great grand daughter Sylvie
Mr. and Mrs. Roderick Maville and great grandson Roddie (Bella Macdonald)
Mr. and Mrs Ovila Constant (Evelina Ménard)


Page 76 -

Mr. and Mrs. Adelard Rozon (Georgina Pilon)
Mr. and Mrs. Henri Major (Dolores Rozon)
Mr. and Mrs. Donat Rozon
Mr. and Mrs Alderic Bourbonnais


Page 77 -

Mr. and Mrs Alex John McDonell (Catherine McDonald)
M. et Mme Nérée Bourbonnais (Adella Léger) with grandchildren Sylvie Bourbonnais and Roger Sauvé.


Page 78 -

Mr. and Mrs Rudolphe Rozon (Martina Vincent)

OUR CENTENARIANS

Mrs Maria Campeau 100 yrs. old, Nov 13,1981
Mr. Stephen Glaude 100 yrs. old, Aug. 1982


Page 79 -

CATHOLIC WOMEN'S LEAGUE

On May 18th 1930 two ladies from Cornwall, Mrs E.J. Cleary and Mrs J.C. MacGregor came to Glen Nevis to form St. Margaret of Scotland Council of the Catholic Women's League. Under the Directorship of the pastor, Father D.R. Macdonald, the following slate of officers was installed:

President: Mrs R.A. McLeod
First vice-president: Miss Violet MacIntosh
Second vice-president: Miss Dorothy MacDonald
Third vice-president: Mrs Napolean Major
Secretary: Mrs John A.J. MacDonell
Treasurer: Mrs A. Arsenault
Councillors: Mrs F. Ouimet, Mrs A.J. McRae, Mrs Leandre Major, Mrs Duncan Campbell, Mrs Archie J. McDonell

History shows that in 1926 Bishop Felix Couturier invited four subdivisions to Cornwall to form Alexandria Diocesan Council. Glen Nevis was represented by Miss Agnes Macdonald and Mrs. Archie John Macdonald. The other subdivisions were Cornwall, Alexandria and Lancaster: Thus it would appear Glen Nevis Council was active for some little time before receiving an official charter in 1930. Through the years, two Diocesan Presidents came from our Council: Mrs. Archie John McDonell and Mrs. John D.A. Macdonald.

Today, humbly thankful to a bountiful God for His many blessings, we look back with pride on more than fifty years of devoted service to our beloved parish of St. Margaret's and its illustrious pastors.


Page 80 -

CARETAKERS OF GLEN NEVIS CHURCH
Our caretakers deserve a great deal of thanks for their painstaking care of the many buildings and extensive area of grounds enclosing them. With a parish hall, a school and surrounding yard space, a convent, priest's house, and for many years, two horse sheds as well as the cemetery and church to care for, it was a great undertaking.

LES BEDEAUX DE L'EGLISE DE GLEN NEVIS
Nos concierges méritent beaucoup de remerciements pour l'entretien soigneux des nombreuses bâtisses et des terrains adjacents. Avec la salle paroissiale, une école, une grande cour, un couvent, un presbytère et pendant deux ans, deux écuries en plus du cimetière et de l'église à entretenir, ça devenait une entreprise considérable.

Some of the sextons were:

Joe Duperon, Alex A.M. McDonald, Angus McDonald, P. Gallagher, Alex McMillan, Alex McKinnon, John and Hugh Kennedy, A.J. MacDonald, Victor Valade, Paul-Emile Campeau, Eugène and Ernest Maheu, A.L. McRae and sons, Bobby Derouchie.

Eugene Maheu, Sexton - One of the duties of the caretakers was to tend Father Dan's jerseys. (picture)
Eugène Maheu, Bedeau - Une des besognes de bedeau était de soigner les vaches "Jersey" du Père Dan

Eugene Maheu was a life long Glen Nevis resident and served most efficiently as sexton for twenty-five years. His keen memory and knowledge of the area families were invaluable when it came to matters pertaining to the cemetery.
Eugène Maheu fut un résident de Glen Nevis pendant toute sa vie et fut un bedeau dévoué pendant vingt-cinq ans. Sa mémoire prodigieuse et sa grande connaissance des familles de la région étaient estimées dans les références au cimetière.


Page 81 -

PEOPLE OF THE TIMES...

"BLESSED IS HE WHO HAS FOUND HIS WORK; LET HIM ASK NO OTHER BLESSEDNESS"...

Down through the years many of our parishioners have shared their talent and served the community to the benefit of all.

From the many who might be listed these few come to mind:

DR. JAMES Y BAKER

Dr. Baker practised medicine at Dalhousie Mills from 1901 to 1946. Although he was not a member of St. Margaret's Parish, he was very necessary to the physical welfare of the people. He was always available in emergencies and served residents on both sides of the border. At one time, Dr. Baker kept two teams of horses for use in his large practice. Following his retirement to Alexandria, Dr. Baker continued to see and treat many of his local patients.

Dr. and Mrs. James Y. Baker (picture)
 

"BENI SOIT CELUI QUI A TROUVE SON TRAVAIL; QU'IL NE DEMANDE PAS D'AUTRE BENEDICTION!..."
À travers les années, plusieurs de nos paroissiens ont partagé leurs talents et ont servi la communauté pour le plus grand bien de tous. Plusieurs pourraient être énumérés, mais en voici quelques-uns dont nous nous souvenons bien:

DR. JAMES Y BAKER
Dr. Baker pratiquait la médecine à Dalhousie Mills de 1901 à 1946. Même s'il n'était pas paroissien de Ste Marguerite, il était indispensable au bien être physique de la communauté. Il était toujours disponible en cas d'urgence et desservait les résidents des deux côtés de la frontière. A un temps, Dr. Baker, gardait deux paires de chevaux pour mieux servir sa clientèle nombreuse. Après sa retraite à Alexandria, Dr. Baker continuait à voir et à traiter plusieurs de ses patients locaux.


Page 82 -

DR. ALLAN B. MCLEOD
Dr. McLeod was born and educated in Glen Nevis. He has been ministering to patients from the Glen Nevis area in his practice in Cornwall for over 25 years.

Among other medical men from Glen Nevis we find:

Dr. Roderick V. Macdonell

Dr. Alex W. McDonald

Dr. Eugene McDonell

We note with pride Dr. Margaret McLeod Ibbey, a nice of Dr. Allan McLeod, and the first medical woman from the parish.

ANGUS McDONALD

Mr. McDonald was born at Bridge End in 1867. He was elected as a federal member from Temiskaming, Ontario in 1920 and was the first Labour member to sit in the Canadian House of Commons.

ARCHIBALD J. MACDONALD

Mr MacDonald served as clerk of the Township of Lancaster for 35 years and operated a general store in North Lancaster in partnership with A. LeClair and later on his own. He was elected as Glengarry's Member of Parliament, Liberal Party in 1925 and 1926.
 

DR. ALLAN B. MCLEOD

Dr. McLeod est né à Glen Nevis et fut éduqué à cet endroit. Depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans qu'il prodigue ses soins médicaux aux patients de la région de Glen Nevis dans sa pratique à Cornwall.

D'autres hommes en médecine venant de Glen Nevis sont:

Dr. Roderick V. Macdonell

Dr. Alexandre R. McDonald

Dr. Eugene McDonell

Notons avec fierté Dr. Margaret McLeod Ibbey, nièce du Dr. Allan McLeod et première femme de la paroisse en médecine.

ANGUS McDONALD

M. McDonald est né à Bridge End en 1867. Il fut élu membre fédéral pour Temiskaming, Ontario en 1920 et fut le premier membre du Travail à siéger à la Chambre des Communes canadienne.

Mr. Archibald J. Macdonald (picture)


Page 83 -

Mr. William J. Major (picture)

William J. MAJOR

Mr. Major worked as secretary-treasurer of the Glengarry Cheese Producers Association. He served as Reeve of Lancaster Township from 1939 to 1945 and served as Glengarry's Member of Parliament, representing the Liberal Party. He was the first man from Glengarry of French descent to represent Glengarry in Ottawa.

JAMES J. MACDONELL

J.J. Macdonell graduated from Maryvale Abbey. He became a senior partner in Price Waterhouse Accountants Firm and in 1973 was appointed Auditor-General of Canada.

A.E. McRAE

Mr. McRae was postmaster and storekeeper in Glen Nevis until his death in 1900. He became Reeve of Lancaster Township in 1871 and Warden of the Three United Counties. He was one of the delegates who supported building the church in Glen Nevis.
 

WILLIAM J. MAJOR

M. Major a travaillé comme secrétaire-trésorier de l'Association des producteurs de fromage de Glengarry de 1939 à 1945 et il représentait le parti libéral de Glengarry comme membre du Parlement. Il était le premier homme de descendance française à représenter Glengarry à Ottawa.

JAMES J. MACDONELL

J.J. Macdonell a gradué du Couvent Maryvale. Il devint partenaire senior dans l'Entreprise des comptables Price Waterhouse et en 1973 fut nommé Auditeur-général du Canada.

A.E. MCRAE

M. McRae était maître de poste et commis de magasin à Glen Nevis jusqu'à sa mort en 1900. Il devint Président du Conseil municipal du Canton de Lancaster en 1871 et Préfet des Trois Comtés Unis. Il était un des délégués qui appuyait la construciton d'une église à Glen Nevis.

J.J. MacDonell (picture)


Page 84 -

D.C. McRAE

Mr McRae was elected Reeve in 1876, 1886,1895 and 1902. He was chosen County Warden i 1898. An effort was made during his tenure as reeve to separate Glengarry from the United Counties. Mr. McRae ably supported the opposition groups to this move and the motion was defeated. His influence on the community is indicated by a young student in Cathechism class, who, when asked who made the world, quickly responded, "D.C. McRae".

CATHERINE (McDONALD) MACDONALD

Mrs J.D.A. Macdonald came to our parish in 1945. She spent 30 years in the field of education. As a member of the Catholic Women's League, she served as Diocesan President in 1959.
 

D.C. McRAE

M. McRae fut élu Président du Conseil municipal en 1876, 1886, 1895 et 1902. Il fut choisi Préfet de Comté en 1898. Durant son terme commePrésident du Conseil municipal, on s'efforçait de séparer Glengarry des Trois Comtés Unis. M. McRae a fortement appuyé les groupes d'opposition à cette idée et la proposition fut rejetée. Son influence s'est réflétée sur la communauté et se traduit par un jeune élève de la classe de Catéchisme à qui on demandait qui avait fait le monde et il répondit immédiatement: "D. C. McRae".

CATHERINE (MCDONALD) MACDONALD

Mme J.D.A. MacDonald est arrivée à notre paroisse en 1945. Elle a consacré trente ans au domaine de l'éducation. Membre actif du "Catholic Women's League", elle fut présidente diocésaine en 1959.

D.C. McRae holding his grandchildren amongst his family (picture)


Page 85 -

McLeod Family (picture)

RODERICK A. McLEOD

Mr. McLeod served two terms as Township Reeve in 1924 and 1935.

JAMES MACDONELL

Jim served overseas in W.W. 1. in the Infantry and Royal Flying Corps. He became Clerk-Treasurer of Lancaster Township in 1939 and continued in this capacity until his retirement in 1963.
 

RODERICK A. McLEOD

M. McLeod a servi deux termes comme Président du Conseil municipal, soit en 1924 et en 1935.

JAMES MACDONELL

Jim faisait partie de l'Infanterie et du Régiment Royal de l'Air durant la premièe guerre mondiale. Il devint commis-trésorier du Canton de Lancaster en 1939 et assuma ce poste jusqu'à sa retraite en 1963.

Mr. and Mrs. James MacDonell and Family admire a retirement gift (picture)


Page 86 -

FARQUHAR D. MCRAE

Mr McRae served as reeve from 1908 to 1912.

GERMAINE (VALADE) VAILLANCOURT

Mrs. Vaillancourt came to Glen Nevis in 1936 and spent 36 years teaching the youth of the parish. She has been awarded the Order of Scholastic Merit and in 1967 received the Centennial medal. During the diocesan synod, she directed one of the commission. She was Regent for the Daughters of Isabella for two years.

RENE LACOMBE

Twenty-five of his thirty-three years of teaching were dedicated to schools of Glen Nevis parish. In 1957 his contribution to the field of education was recognized when he was awarded the Order of Scholastic Merit. He also served as president of our Parish Council for three years.

FARQUHAR D. McRAE

M. McRae a assumé le poste de Président du Conseil municipal de 1908 à 1912.

GERMAINE (VALADE) VAILLANCOURT

Mme Vaillancourt est arrivée à North Lancaster en 1936 et a passé 36 ans à enseigner la jeunesse de notre paroisse. En 1959, on lui a décerné l'Ordre du Mérite Scolaire et en 1967 elle reçut la médaille du centenaire. Lors du synode diocésain, elle dirigeait une des commissions. Elle fut Régente des Filles d'Isabelle pendant deux ans.

RENÉ LACOMBE

Vingt-cinq de ses trente-trois années d'enseignement ont été consacrées aux écoles de la paroisse de Glen Nevis. Sa contribution dans le domaine de l'éducation fut reconnue quand il fut décoré de l'ordre du Mérite Scolaire en 1957. Il fut président du Comité paroissial pendant trois ans.

Mme Roméo Vaillancourt (picture)

René Lacombe (picture)


Page 87 -

ROMEO VAILLANCOURT

Mr. Vaillancourt assumed the duties of Township Clerk-Treasurer in 1963 and remained until his sudden death in 1973.

DR. DUNCAN JOSEPH McDONALD

Dr. McDonald obtained a McGill Rhodes Scholarship and at Oxford undertook research on the genetics of tissue transplants. Among his outstanding successes in the scientific field were the responsibility for Operation Muskox and in Japan the study of the effects of radiation on the human population.

ROMEO VAILLANCOURT

M. Vaillancourt a accepté les fonctions de commis-trésorier du Canton en 1963 jusqu'à son décès en 1973.

DR. DUNCAN JOSEPH MCDONALD

Dr. McDonald a obtenu une bourse d'études de McGill Rhodes et à Oxford il a entrepris des recherches sur la génétique de la transplantation des tissus. Parmi se succès dans la sphère scientifique figure sa responsabilité dans l'opération Muskox et ses études au Japon sur les effets de la radiation sur le genre humain.

Mr. Roméo Vaillancourt (picture)

The Roderick J. McDonald Family (picture)


Page 88 -

DR. HUGH JOSEPH McDONALD

Dr. McDonald became a noted chemis and was Professor of Chemistry at Illinois Institute of Technology before becoming Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry at Loyola University Chicago.

Continuing the work of this family in educational achievement is Dr. Roderick A. McDonald in biochemistry and Dr. Mary McDonald in archeology.

NEIL R. "FOGHORN" MACDONALD

Perhaps one of the most colourful men St. Margaret's could claim would be Neil "Foghorn" MacDonald who was born in seventh concession of Lancaster township. So named because of his booming voice, Neil was an internationally known character, fearless, frolicsome and fervent - a friend of "Prophets, Priests and Kings", who was equally at home in mining camps or palaces. He had spent four years, actively at war advancing to a Major in the Forestry Corps. As "Foghorn" he was known throughout the mining camps of the Canadian and American west. During the earlier Cobalt days, he managed various mines and was a Porcupine pioneer. He was buried in Glen Nevis in November 1923

DR. HUGH JOSEPH MCDONALD

Dr. McDonald est devenu un chimiste renommé et fut professeur de chimie à l'Institut de Technologie à Illinois avant de devenir chef de la section de Biochimie à l'Université Loyola à Chicago.

Aujourd'hui, Dr. Roderick A McDonald dans le domaine de la biochimie, et sa soeur Dr. Mary McDonald dans celui de l'archéologie continuent l'oeuvre de cette famille illustre dans l'éducation.

NEIL R "FOGHORN" MACDONALD

Un homme de caractère très populaire de la paroisse Ste Marguerite fut certainement Neil "Foghorn" MacDonald, né dans la septième concession du canton de Lancaster. Surnommé ainsi en raison de sa voix puissante, Neil était un personnage connu internationalement, audacieux, farceur et pieux - un ami des "Prophètes, des prêtres et des Rois" - qui était aussi à l'aise dans les chantiers miniers que dans les palais. Il a passé quatre années actives en guerre, avançant au rang de Major dans le Corps Forestiers. Comme "Foghorn", il était reconnu à travers les camps miniers de l'ouest américain et canadien. Il a géré les mines "Porcupine" à leurs débuts et plusieurs autres entreprises minières. Il fut enterré à Glen Nevis en novembre 1923.

Neil R. "Foghorn" Macdonald (picture)


Page 89 -

MRS ARCHIBALD J. MCDONELL

Mrs A.J. McDonell of Bridge End taught for many years at Bridge End, in 4th concession of Lancaster, and North Lancaster. She also was a Diocesan President of the Catholic Women's League as well as Parish Council President.

ALDERIC BOURBONNAIS

For the greater part of a long lifetime, Alderic Bourbonnais operated the blacksmith shop, which had been a family tradition. Known as one of the most capable tradesmen in the vicinity, he was relied upon by the entire farming district for his ability to turn his hand to their needs.

In 1959, his shop was moved to Upper Canada Village where it forms part of the pioneer atmosphere.

MME ARCHIBALD J. MCDONELL

Mme A.J. McDonell de Bridge End a enseigné plusieurs années à Bridge End dans la 4e concession de Lancaster et à North Lancaster. Elle fut aussi présidente diocésaine du "Catholic Women's League" et présidente du Conseil paroissial.

ALDERIC BOURBONNAIS

Aldéric Bourbonnais de North Lancaster était propriétaire de la boutique de forge durant la majeure partie de sa longue vie. Ce commerce faisait partie de la tradition familiale. Ses capacités et ses connaissances du métier de forgeron lui ont gagné l'estime et la confiance de l'entière région agricole.

En 1959, sa boutique fut déménagée au Village Upper Canada où elle ajoute à l'atmosphère antique de l'entourage.


Page 90 -

DOWN MEMORY LANE...

Bella Catherine Macdonald, a teacher in the Red School. Her mother Jessie (Alex Archie) McDonell, was from Bridge End. Sisters Cecilia and Lillian Bathurst on a visit home, 1941


Page 91 -

A Knights of Columbus Communion Breakfast


Page 92 -

A Glen Nevis Ball team. Players identified are Hector Maheu, Archie McRae, raymond (Rory) McDonald, Archibald (Rory) McDonald

Lacrosse Team of 1932

1st Row: left to right - Raymond McDonald, Archie McRae, Leonard McMillan, Bert Maheu
2nd row: left to right - Lawrencew McMillan, Archie McDonald, Lucien Castonguay, Lloyd McDonald, Rod McRae
3rd row: left to right - Eugene Dumont, Oscar Ranger, Angus McLeod, Bill Kennedy, John McDonald, Eug. Duperron, Harry McDougall, David Lalonde


Page 93 -

J.J. Macdonell in his younger days

John J. McDonald dressed for his first photograph


Page 94 -

One of our pioneer families - Mrs Pascal Rozon, Alderic Rozon, Laurent Rozon, Lise Rozon

Mrs Duncan Bathurst on the veranda. At the extreme right of picture we see a small building which was known to the residents of the area as "The Temple". We are told that in early times this building was a place for meetings and sometimes even for religious services of either Catholic or Protestant denominations.

In 1920 era, horses were a very necessary "power" on every farm. Here we see Angus Bathurst with his sister Sarah. A graduate of Maryvale Abbey, Sarah taught school for some forty years.


Page 95 -

STUDENTS OF S.S. NO 10, YEAR 1924

Front Row: left to right - Raymond (Rory) McDonald, Archie McRae, Jerome Rozon, Lawrence McMillan, Rolland Major, Norman A.N. McDonald, Kenneth Jardin, Allan (Little Allan) McDonald, Roddy McLaughlin, Archie McLeod, John McRae, Real Campeau, John R. McKay, Jackie Kennedy.

2nd Row: Henri Maheu, Ernest Maheu, Marie Lefebvre, Gladys Cleary, Alice Denis, Ruby Jardin, Thérèse Besner, Janet Vincent, Mary (Rory) McDonald, Elizabeth Macdonell, Lucille Rozon, Sam McLeod, Gregory McDonald, Allan McRae, Leonard MacMillan, Arnold McDonald.

3rd Row: Lucienne Denis, Mary McKay, Margaret Lefevre, Cécile Lalonde, Gwen Glasgow, Antoinette Poirier, Julia Montroy, Pearl Bathurst, Lucille Besner, Florence Lefebvre, Bessie McLeod, Janet A.N. McDonald, Janet Poirier

4th Row: Archibald A.N. McDonald, Angus McLeod, Orene Rozon, Angus Kennedy, John McLeod, Reuben Rozon, Lorenzo Zero, J.J. Macdonell, Léo Ouimet, Ludovic Rozon, Francis McDonald, John (Rory) McDonald, Jack McLaughlin, Angus John McDonald, Allan (Rory) McDonald, Lucien Besner

5th Row: Isobel McRae, Eileen Cleary, Cécile Poirier, Laura Campeau, Delisca Campeau, Gladys McDonald, Miss Kershaw, Isobel McKay, Frances (Little Allan) McDonald, Pat Jardin

6th Row: George McDonald, Elizabeth McLeod, ?, Sarah (Little Allan) McDonald, Laurette Besner, Alice Kennedy, Adrienne Besner, ?, Annie Lajeunesse, ?, Olive Collins, Lloyd Lefebvre.


Page 96 -

STUDENTS OF THE OLD NORTH LANCASTER SCHOOL - 1947

Front Row: left to right - Collette Brunet, Lise Glaude ? Dextras, Jean Claude Vincent

2nd Row: Gaetan Rozon, Maurice Major, Eugene Dumond, Jean Paul Glaude, Roger Poirier, Gilles Vaillancourt, Gilles Glaude

3rd Row: Viviane ROZON, Jeannine Rozon, Eva ROZON, Madeleine Major, Alice McGillis, Thérèse Poirier, Fleurette Leblanc

4th Row: Denise Rozon, Ethel Major, Gisèle Major, Pierrette Diotte, Adrienne Major, Claire Poirier, Jeannine Poirier

Back Row: Jean Guy Major, Jacques Poirier, Gaston Vaillancourt, Robert Tellier, Roland Dumond, Maurice Rozon, Armand Dumond, Gilles Campeau

L to R: Angus Bathurst, Mrs Dolan and Doctor Dominic Dolan. Before entering the medical profession, doctor Dolan taught at Dalhousie Mills. It is interesting to note that Angus' father Duncan was instrumental in Dominic Dolan's decision to become a doctor.


Page 97 -

"LITTLE" ALLAN McDONALD FAMILY

L to R - back: Sarah, Allan, Harriet

Front: Annie, Frances

Harriet has in her possession the trowel used in laying the cornerstone of St. Margaret's church in 1882

Harris Bathurst, present proprietor of Bathurst's General Store, Dalhousie Mills.

AUNT FLORA

Flora John Oostian Macdonell vacationed at the old family home with her brother, Alex John Macdonell, in the 7th concession of Lancaster, helping with the household chores. Mrs Angus S. MacDonell recalls that Flora was a frequent visitor at her home when she was a little girl.


Page 98 -

THE JOHN McLEOD FAMILY

Descended from one of the founding families of the parish, three sets of twins swelled their family circle to ten children in seven years.

In 1913, Jim (Alex Rory) McDonell of Bridge End tried a jump at a St. Telesphore picnic with a rigid pole to land on the bare ground. McDonell used a style that would allow him to land on his feet.


Page 99-100 - Our Patrons (for the bulletin - approx. 150)


Page 101-102

STATISTICS

YEAR BAPTISMS BURIALS MARRIAGES ORDINATIONS
         
1881 09 00 00 00
1882 57 03 13 00
1883 56 14 09 00
1884 88 09 11 00
1885 75 31 15 00
1886 80 22 09 00
1887 86 30 12 00
1888 87 28 10 00
1889 72 34 13 00
1890 63 13 09 00
1891 57 20 09 00
1892 95 35 16 00
1893 66 20 15 00
1894 56 16 07 00
1895 47 25 07 00
1896 44 26 08 00
1897 46 23 06 00
1898 57 15 08 00
1899 43 11 03 00
1900 46 16 09 00
1901 46 17 08 00
1902 57 13 12 00
1903 53 22 11 00
1904 43 17 07 00
1905 56 13 09 00
1906 49 15 07 00
1907 37 15 03 00
1908 55 26 11 00
1909 53 15 12 00
1910 59 25 12 00
1911 49 23 06 00
1912 41 18 06 00
1913 44 18 04 00
1914 40 20 14 00
1915 44 23 08 00
1916 48 18 13 00
1917 51 12 09 00
1918 46 11 04 00
1919 40 25 07 00
1920 44 19 20 00
1921 57 17 10 00
1922 42 12 12 00
1923 39 21 09 00
1924 39 11 09 00
1925 22 14 04 00
1926 26 25 07 00
1927 29 15 02 00
1928 25 15 02 00
1929 22 09 01 00
1930 23 13 03 00
1931 26 14 09 00
1932 21 13 02 00
1933 26 18 06 00
1934 23 20 03 00
1935 24 10 03 00
1936 16 12 06 00
1937 18 13 07 00
1938 19 18 05 00
1939 13 08 10 00
1940 14 16 07 00
1941 12 09 08 00
1942 30 11 08 00
1943 19 10 04 00
1944 29 12 10 00
1945 25 09 07 00
1946 32 15 10 00
1947 27 13 05 00
1948 30 15 09 00
1949 19 15 04 00
1950 27 03 03 00
1951 22 07 06 00
1952 24 14 05 00
1953 20 14 04 00
1954 19 09 11 00
1955 22 14 06 00
1956 25 08 07 00
1957 13 07 02 00
1958 16 17 04 00
1959 19 15 09 00
1960 21 05 08 00
1961 14 06 04 00
1962 26 04 02 00
1963 13 05 05 00
1964 28 10 06 00
1965 18 01 08 00
1966 16 13 07 00
1967 15 09 04 00
1968 11 14 05 00
1969 13 06 12 01
1970 12 11 04 00
1971 15 14 09 00
1972 07 07 06 00
1973 10 24 07 00
1974 15 11 04 00
1975 08 12 09 00
1976 10 09 09 00
1977 13 09 05 00
1978 10 17 05 00
1979 07 08 04 00
1980 13 12 02 00
1981 08 13 02 00
1982        
TOTAL 1881-1982  3443 1487 749 01

Fr. Witold P. Mazurkiewicz

PARISH STATISTICS

FIRST BAPTISM:

September 18,1881, Joseph, son of Francis Rozon and Odile Goulet. Sponsored by Antoine Rozon and Elizabeth Watier.

FIRST MARRIAGE:

September 19,1881 John Richardson, son of John Richardson and Flora Lyman and Mary McPherson, daughter of Angus McPherson and Mary Cameron, Witnessed by Alex and Flora Grant.

FIRST BURIAL:

April 4, 1882, Mary Isobella Printiss, wife of Malcolm McRae.


Page 103 - Map of Lancaster Township (picture)



 

General - Informations - Générales

Mass Times - Heures des Messes  What's New ? - Quoi de neuf ?  /  History - Histoire