Pope Paul VI Unit Award

  • Unit must be chartered by a Catholic institution (parish, Knights of Columbus). 
  • Cooperation, development, and program are the key words in the recognition of Catholic chartered units in earning the Pope Paul VI unit recognition award. The adult leadership responds to training not only in Scouting lores, but in training in the Catholic Scouter Development, and religious counseling. The Scouts in each Pack, Troop, Team, and Post respond by participating in the religious emblems program respective of their status in Scouting. 
  • 1.Unit must be chartered to a Catholic parish, school, Knights of Columbus council, etc.
  • 2.Unit leader who completed leader basic training (including Youth Protection) 
  • 3.A trained Religion Emblems counselor 
  • 4.Two-deep leadership 
  • 5.One leader who completed "Spiritual Formation for Scouters" 
  • 6.A unit service project 
  • 7.Spiritual growth including a religious emblems program
  • 8.Unit participation in a religious activity 
  • 9.A Vocational awareness program 
  • 10.One person serving with the local Catholic Committee on Scouting 
  • 11.A plan to increase unit membership 
  • The presentation is made at the Youth Awards Ceremony or other appropriate ceremony. 
Suggested Time Requirements
  • The award covers one calendar year.