Silver St. George
National Level Adult Recognition Award

At its 35th Biennial Conference for Catholic Scout leaders from around the country, held in Columbus Ohio, April 21-25, 1998, the National Catholic Committee on Scouting initiated a new award for dedicated members of its national organization who have worked hard and diligently for many years at the national level, and whose accomplishments in carrying out the youth-serving mission of NCCS have been especially significant.

NCCS will limit the number of awards to six per year. The first presentation included awards for 1997 and 1998.

The award includes a silver version of the St. George emblem, suspended on a dark blue ribbon. A complete citation booklet and certificate to accompany the medal will be prepared shortly.


2002 Recipients

Betty Bridgeman Diocese of Arlington, VA
Fr. Randy Cuevas Diocese of Baton Rouge, LA
Fr. Ray Fecteau  
John Ribar Diocese of Louisville, KY
Truman Stacey  
Fr. Roger Strebel Diocese of Green Bay, WI


2001 Recipients

Sam Bridgeman Diocese of Arlington, VA
Bishop Gerald Gettelfinger Diocese of Evansville, IN
Edward Martin Diocese of Cleveland, OH
Robert Oldowski Archdiocese of St. Paul - Minneapolis, MN
Rev. Dennis O'Rourke Diocese of Phoenix, AZ
Eleanore Starr Diocese of Dallas, TX

2000 Recipients

Jack Coughlin Archdiocese of New York City
Rev. Michael Donald Archdiocese of St. Louis
Rev. John Fischer Archdiocese of Cincinnati
Ed Gargiulo Diocese of Wilmington DE
Rev. Jim Kolp Diocese of Youngstown OH
Tom Nishikubo Archdiocese of Los Angeles

1999 Recipients

Bob Cunningham Diocese of Kansas City/St. Joseph MO
Rev. Leo LeBlanc Diocese of Manchester NH
Michael McGarvey Diocese of Rockville Center NY
Rev. Nicholas Rachford Eparchy of Parma OH
Gerard O. Rocque Diocese of Buffalo NY
Frank Rossomondo Archdiocese of Washington DC

Twelve Silver St. George Emblems were presentation by the Executive Board of the NCCS, six for 1997 and six for 1998:

William Cardinal Keeler Archbishop of Baltimore MD
Rev. Msgr. Robert Guglielmone Diocese of Rockville Center NY
Rev. Msgr. Richard LaRocque Diocese of Norwich CT
Henry Murphy Diocese of Trenton NJ
Dorothy Danaher Diocese of Hartford CT
Marvin Smith Diocese of Galveston-Houston TX
James Wong Diocese of Honolulu HI
Ben Hauserman Diocese of Cleveland OH
Jack Deckenbach Archdiocese of St. Paul- Minneapolis MN
Michael Kosiba Diocese of St. Petersburg FL
Carol Oldowski Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis MN
Rev. Msgr. Joseph Carroll Diocese of San Diego CA

This award was approved at the 1997 Executive Board meeting. Some of the requirements for the Silver St. George Award are as follows:

Eagle Scout Arrow of Light Universal Religious Emblem Explorer Gold Award James West Fellowship Award Adult Religious Award
Home About Us Religious Awards News/Activities Contact Us Links